We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sort of disappointed”

Cosa Nostra Italian Trattoria
Ranked #157 of 921 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
585 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Sort of disappointed”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We came here for my wife’s birthday. We left just a little disappointed. The starter was great, pizza bianca, absolutely delicious. After that, everything went downhill on the food side. I had the bolognese, which really didn’t have much taste. My wife had fish with crushed potatoes which was ok. Service was fine. Not somewhere we’d return to based on this visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BagmanNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    38
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and ambiance!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Waitress was friendly and polite. My partner and I had a pizza each and they were fabulous! The restaurant has really good ambiance. It was almost full and everyone was having a lively conversation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CatChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Second time I have eaten at CN. Ordered exactly the same - stuffed Calamari entree and Veal Marsala main. Just amazing! Calamari has amazing blend of flavours - olives, capers and who nows what else (whatever it is, it works for me) complimented by elegant tomato sauce. Veal to die for! I love veal and struggle to find good veal In NZ. These guys have got it right!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pizzas uninspiring”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Dined here on a Sunday night. From the road it had all the elements of appearing to be a good dining experience as it was very busy for a Sunday night with only had one table available. My partner and I ordered a pizza each and a bottle of Italian wine. The wine was great however sadly the pizzas were really disappointing. We had tried to select two pizzas with distinctly different flavours however most of the toppings were the same and there was little difference in taste. This together with an over-crispy base meant they just didn't zing for us. Pleasant atmosphere and the service was good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoppy_Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Starters are good, especially the squid. Pizzas are a huge disappointment. I live across the road but would rather have a Dominos pizza. No real taste to pizzas.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cosa Nostra Italian Trattoria also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Cosa Nostra Italian Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing