We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cost effective and satisfying well prepared fresh food”

Cosa Nostra Italian Trattoria
Ranked #167 of 911 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Cost effective and satisfying well prepared fresh food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you want a friendly, suburban restaurant, then we recommend this one for an easy, tasty casual meal. The food and service is great and it's just a few minutes from the Beehive in your capital city. You can wander there through the botanical gardens or stop in after a relaxed shop in the shops nearby.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PipandMully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    37
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Top little Italian.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Great italian food and BYO - makes a great value meal. The platter is a great starter to share. The pasta dishes are very good and the cannelloni very filling.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MattSarahD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Well run trattoria, good food, good value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Busy enough to tell you this is a popular spot with the locals. May pay to book a table here if you don't want to be disappointed. The menu is varied enough to suit those who don't fancy Italian, however the pizza's here are notoriously yummy. Takeaway is available.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good for its type in NZ.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Allowing this is Wellington and not downtown Rome or even Lygon st in Melbourne, Cosa Nostra is I feel as good as it gets in Wellington for the 'typical Italian Trattoria'.
I feel the menu is often somewhat limited - and they will not do smaller versions of the mains for children ; however service always great and there is a small kids menu.
Deserts are generally top class.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThaiPrivateEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
566 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Very very average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We came here for my wife’s birthday. We left just a little disappointed. The starter was great, pizza bianca, absolutely delicious. After that, everything went downhill on the food side. I had the bolognese, which really didn’t have much taste. My wife had fish with crushed potatoes which was ok. Service was fine. Not somewhere we’d return to based on this visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BagmanNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cosa Nostra Italian Trattoria also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Cosa Nostra Italian Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing