We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wine”
Review of Capri Bar and Eatery - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Capri Bar and Eatery
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great wine”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We visited this restaurant at the beginning of December and it was fantastic. From the starters to the desserts, the meal was faultless, beautifully presented and the portions were just right-I hate being over faced. We chose Ned Pinot Gris which was one of the best wines I had during our tour of New Zealand, very peachy and not like some of the other Pinot wines. Service was good though admittedly there were only two other couples in the restaurant. It was the best meal during our three week tour of New Zealand. Very surprised at some of the bad reviews, we had nothing but good things to say about our meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aliceband979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    4
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
160 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Something has gone wrong...”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

A few months back Capri was a favourite. Usually once a month for lunch. The food was good. The service was great.

I visited with a friend recently and we had the set lunch, which was quite frankly, horrible.

The steak was lying bleeding on a pile of mash potato and my pasta was some bits of chicken and bacon swimming in a literal soup of sauce. The service was mediocre.

Gone is the outgoing maître de and the delicious food. What is left is a mere shadow of its former self.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Atomic T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland NZ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worst meal of my life”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The staff were lovely, atomsphere ok. Food-very disappointing. Got a steak which had been cut in half, maybe because I wanted it well done so it was cooked that way?? garlic potato, I'm sure it wasn't real garlic but paste and lot had been put in! Bowl of vegetables - luke warm courgettes nothing else. Couldn't eat my meal and all I got was I'll tell the kitchen staff. Had to pay full price for an uneatable meal

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LotsaBlondeMoments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great meal, went twice”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Great unique restaurant with very accommodating helpful staff. Our first meal at Capri was lunch and we were impressed enough by the food and service we went back a couple of nights later for dinner. Both times service was attentive and the food tasted great. Steak at dinner was perfectly cooked and the churros are amazing. Really enjoyed Capri and will be back next time in Wellington.

Helpful?
Thank Lucy158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great staff...”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The staff were very friendly. Service was excellent. The main course was tasteless. The vegetables were overcooked.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ayeaye2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capri Bar and Eatery also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing