We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wee slice of Mexico”
Review of La Boca Loca

La Boca Loca
Ranked #223 of 923 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great wee slice of Mexico”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Went to this restaurant with my sister in law,lovely service, didn't feel rushed at all. Food was a reasonable price and was all lovely. Can recommend. Nice chilled atmosphere. Would suggest good idea to book though as seems very popular.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank QTOWNFI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    43
    20
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Spice Required...”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had a family meal here and if I am honest (which is the whole point of these sites) I was left wanting more, more spice, more food. The portions are very small and as it was our first (and probably last) visit we did not know you need to add a whole bunch of sides to make it a meal. My enchiladas were so bland a 2 year old could eat them. I've never been to Mexico but I'm thinking a kiwi 2 year old would not enjoy the normal level of heat that I expected from La Boca Loca. The only real sting was in the price of the drinks.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NixieGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
93 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A great lunch”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Was looking for a cafe to give my boys lunch before heading to Weta (this is at the other end of Park Road to Weta, very close) couldn't find a cafe but found this place, how lucky were we.

My boys had the kids fish strips in batter, they were very nice, freshly cooked and a good size. The boys also shared a bowl of wedges which were also very nice.

Myself and my wife had 4 appetisers between us, all with the house-made corn chips which were nice and crunchy.

Totopos con Salsa y Chipotle Mayo - House-made corn chips, salsa ranchera & chipotle mayo (V). The salsa was nice and tasty, and the mayo had a great little kick to it.

2 x Ceviche de Pescado - Salad of citrus marinated line-caught fish, cucumber, tomato & onion with house-made corn chips. The salad was refreshing and filling, very nicely done.

Dip de Frijoles Negros con Totopos (V) - Ancho chili & black bean dip with house-made corn-chips. The dip was lovely, very moreish.

This was a very nice place to come across and have lunch, and would go back again if we were in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jacko1747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely loca boca”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Delicious lunch, and also enjoyed dinner on another occasion with family at La Loca Boca….. our lunch order was unfortunately mixed up by staff but was nevertheless tasty as was the spiciest Virgin Mary I've ever had ! As a rule tips are included in New Zealand, although the cheeky note on the 'tip bowl' when paying the bill reads 'good tippers make better lovers' invites many extra rewards of course !

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank palma_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
126 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Well worth a booking and night out...the folks of Miramar are spoilt!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We enjoyed ginger mojitos ($16 each), regular mojitos ($15 each), chicken quesadilla ($10), fish taco ($18.50) with platos refried beans and rice ($5 extra), guacamole ($10). All was yummy, satisfying, served with pride and care by Latina waitress Ursulla who was 2 weeks from completing her PhD in marine biology no less!! So do ask for "Dr Ursula" when you visit - her story about coming to NZ and wanting to stay here is inspiring and accompanies the food very well. We were delighted to get in on a Saturday night, apparently it is very popular with the Miramar locals. We cetainly noticed all the foreigh accents dining evening: British, Welsh, American. We were the only Kiwi tones in our side of the restaurant, so this place clearly serves the local movie industry workers. It opens for breakfast and prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peterawiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Boca Loca also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to La Boca Loca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing