We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Acorns Wellington Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 45 Wellington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Plymouth
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I chose to come back to Acorns based on my last experience which was excellent. The quality and attention to detail is superb and the host is really accommodating. Thoroughly recommend this gorgeous spot.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubyredshoes728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
205
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. Great modern room with kitchenette, laundry and wifi. The best part though was the hosts, Emily and Tim. They could not do enough for us and we just loved their company. They gave us great tips on what to do and see in our very limited time there as this was a stop to get home. So glad we at least had the 2 days there, wish it could have been longer.
We would 100% recommend staying here. It is just 10 minute from the airport. A bus trip or drive into downtown. A must see is the Te Papa museum. We don't normally like museums, but this one was excellent. We spent about 3 hours there. The maritime museum is also excellent. Lots of history about the area. It is nice to walk along the waterfront, then up through some of the city streets. Most guidebooks will recommend the cable car up the mountain for city views, but we found our way up to Mt. Victoria for some spectacular views (photo attached). We did the cable car, but found it wanting, except for the walk down the hill through the botanical gardens.
With only 2 days, we didn't get to try many of their restaurants, but the one we tried was a standout. It is Floriditas on Cuba St. Great lamb, chicken and appetizers, especially the cheese straws and croquettes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigbernCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We were delighted to stay one night recently for a break from the routines of normal life. Beautifully appointed room in a quiet, peaceful setting. Emily was the perfect host. Felt like we'd been on holiday which was exactly what we wanted. Would most definitely recommend to others and plan to return soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IJH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Wonderful stay--very clean and spacious room with nice shower room, kitchenette, patio, and laundry facilities. Great breakfast provided in room so you can enjoy on your own time. Emily was helpful in providing sightseeing tips and left freshly baked cookies and bread for us. This is definitely a first choice when staying Wellington in the future!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

A quiet,comfortable, private and beautifully appointed unit near a beach with lovely scenic walks is our idea of heaven. We enjoyed our night in the kowhai suite with the patio outside bringng light into the room and a pleasant vista beyond. Emily was friendly and professional, making it clear that nothing was too much trouble to make our stay happy. Everything was first class!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My partner and I have stayed at Acorns Kowhai Suite twice in the past year and are booked in for another stay early next year. This place is easily our home away from home.

Just to give you some backround we are not the type of guests who normally stay at B&B's, we generally stay at International chain hotels - we decided to give Acorns a go in October as it looked highly recommended on Trip advisor - we were not disappointed. The suite is fantastic, its very clean, (still has that new smell) well furnished, fantastic comfortable bed, great shower / bathroom, a TV with a full range of Sky channels, the carpets are still springy, the baked goods from Emily are wonderful, the lovely breakfasts and juice in the fridge, all part of making the stay fantastic. The suite has its own entrance and its own courtyard if you want to sit outside.

Because Acorns is located in the suburbs street parking is easily available and free 24/7 unlike the CBD. Another added bonus if you have a rental car.

Seatoun is a beach suburb and we really enjoyed being away from the CBD as we live in central Sydney.

For guests who are new to Wellington just keep in mind that there is a commute involved to get to the city centre. If you have a car this reasonably easy (about 15 minute drive), there is a bus stop nearby and theres always a taxi if you are so inclined. (But this will be about the same price as getting one from Wellington airport to the CBD)

We have stayed at many hotels in Wellington and this place is easily our first choice if it is available. It is a great place for a great price. Have no problem recommending this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie_and_Sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We only had one night here, and would have loved to have stayed longer! Lovely apartment and great host, really friendly. We really enjoyed the freshly baked cookies when we arrived. Great location, very quiet, comfy bed, great shower room and lovely breakfast. Lots of useful and interesting books and information - including bus timetables etc - also in room. Would highly recommend. If you don't stay here, you'll have missed a treat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline_steve8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
3.6 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
747 reviews
3.5 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,603 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
3.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
3.3 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorns Wellington Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorns Wellington Bed and Breakfast

Property: Acorns Wellington Bed and Breakfast
Address: 97 Inglis Street | Seatoun, Wellington 6022, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Acorns Wellington Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acorns is the perfect base for your Wellington stay - stylish, self-contained and private bed and breakfast accommodation, just 15 minutes by car from downtown Wellington and five minutes from Wellington airport. Our property has two lovely studio rooms, each with their own external entrance and private courtyards. Each beautiful studio offers: Breakfast kitchen with daily provisions, Queen bed, quality furnishings and linen,tiled bathroom with full amenities. Free Internet and cable TV, CD, DVD. Laundry facilities in the Kowhai studio. Safe FREE on-street car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Acorns Wellington Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing