We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently Good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Chef's Restaurant

Thai Chef's Restaurant
Ranked #75 of 904 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The Award Thai Restaurant in Wellington - The Thai Chef's restaurant was awarded "Thai Select" PREMIUM by the Thai Prime Minister H.E. Yingluck Shinawatra on March 24, 2013 in recognition of their high quality and authenticity of Royal Thai Cuisine.Now you be the Judge.....Deliveries & TakeoutsFully licensed.Lunch Tuesday to FridayDinner 7 nights
Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
121 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Had an early dinner tonight at the Thai Chef, warm greeting, possibly the owner, prompt service and delicious food.

Well presented and tasty, the only thing was there was no chillies to add to the dishes if heat was required. In saying that we never asked, I dare say it is available.

Prices are dearer than most Thai restaurants in Wellies, but the quality is above the competition.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NattachaiChang, Owner at Thai Chef's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hi Jim

Thank you for your generous comment and thank you for your custom. Please accept our apologies, yes, chilli is always available for you if you prefer a hotter meal or next visit you can just place your heat preference to your liking.... it starts from medium to Bloody hot.....
However we are pleased to see you had a good night out at our restaurant.

We hope to see you again soon.

Chang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    93
    21
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Authentic Thai!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

I come to this restaurant all the time! The food is really yummy and they have a very good selection. I strongly recommend it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NattachaiChang, Owner at Thai Chef's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hi
Thank you for such a lovely comment. We are working hard to keep our high standard as the same as possible. Please advise if anything you feel we could do better.

Regards,

Chang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Thai good :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Been here twice, service and food are great yum yum would definitely recommend to my family and friends :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peowpeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NattachaiChang, Owner at Thai Chef's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hi
Thank you for such a lovely comment. We are working hard to keep our high standard as the same as possible. Please advise if anything you feel we could do better.

Again thank you for your custom and we wish to see you again soon.

Regards,

Chang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Real Thai feeling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Visited for the first time and it was lovely, made me feel back on Thailand on holiday, eating delicious spicy food and satay chicken again too!! 3 alcoholics main has an amazing sauce too, can't wait to visit again soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashbeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NattachaiChang, Owner at Thai Chef's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hi
Thank you for such a lovely comment. We are working hard to keep our high standard as the same as possible. Please advise if anything you feel we could do better.

Again thank you for your custom and we wish to see you again soon.

Regards,

Chang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good food good atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

we come here every few months. The food is always good, staff are good and usually get orders correct. Men's bathroom need hand towels.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrtimnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NattachaiChang, Owner at Thai Chef's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Hi

Thank you for such a lovely comment. We are working hard to keep our high standard as the same as possible. Please advise if anything you feel we could do better.

Also thank you for advising the Hand towels it might just run out, we will keep an eye on it.

Again thank you for your custom and we wish to see you again soon.

Regards,

Chang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Chef's Restaurant also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Thai Chef's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing