We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tout”

Hammonds Wellington Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.85*
and up
Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour
More Info
$155.22*
and up
Martinborough Wine-Tasting Tour from Wellington
More Info
$170.07*
and up
Palliser Bay and Coastal Delights Tour from Wellington
Ranked #3 of 13 Food & Drink in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hop on board and experience Wellington's original sightseeing tour. Sit back, relax and enjoy your tour, with local, fun and informative guides. Hammonds Wellington Tours are 56 years young and offer personalised tours showcasing Wellington's stunning scenery. We love showing off the Wellington region to the world and you will depart our tours with fond memories of this beautiful part of New Zealand. Our tours include Wellington City Sights, Kapiti Coast Kiwi Experience, Martinborough Gourmet Wine Tour, Palliser Bay- off the Beaten Track and the Capital Craft Beer Tour. Book today with Hammonds Wellington Tours, we promise you won't be disappointed!
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great tout”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We did the Wellington city tour with Paul as our guide..Paul was very good at pointing things out as we drove along and was happy to answer any questions. Would recommend this tour. The tour went for 2.5 hours during that time we went to the top of the cable car for anyone who wanted a one way ride then we met them at the bottom of the hill, we went through the city centre, past the parliament buildings up to Mt Victoria lookout (a few stairs to climb there), to the Old St Paul's cathedral and drove the Botannical gardens.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank austrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    24
    1
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Scenic nightmare”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My family did this trip a week ago whilst visiting Wellington. The tour guide did nothing but insult Australians for the whole 2.5hours. I felt sorry for the other people on the bus who had no idea what was going on from other countries. The tour did not do as we were directed by the information centre with stops too long in some parts and not long enough in others. We asked several times for the vents to be turned on throughout the bus but there was no air in the bus, either fresh or air conditioning except for the driver. He was quite rude when asked. We actually had to ask the driver to pull over so that we weren't vomiting in the aisles.needless to say we got off the bus early and walked back rather than putting up with any more. Definately would never recommend this company to anyone!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Tour, Great Driver”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We really enjoyed our City and Coastline tour. A wonderful way to see Wellington. Our driver, Paul, made this tour great. He has such a terrific personality and is extremely well informed. He was very considerate of his passengers and showed that extra bit of care for their comfort, safety, and answered everyone's questions and requests. Paul also stopped at several sights with ample time to take pictures which we liked. We have been on many tours but Paul was truly an outstanding guide and driver. We were very satisfied with this tour company and would highly recommend it. We felt we saw so much of the Wellington area and learned so much in a few hours. Hammond's is very lucky to have Paul as an employee and such a positive representative for their company.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“A very good choice for Wellington tours”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We took the City and Coastal Tour, and enjoyed it tremendously. We had an excellent guide, and he gave us so many insights into Wellington, its history and future. Definitely a tour to go on with Hammonds.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank dbasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Great stops and very informative guide”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The tour is 2.5 hour with several stops at a reasonable price. Paul is my driver and guide today with 6 other passengers. He provides us with a lot fun facts about the buildings or the sculptures on the road, and historic introductions of the buildings and sites. He guided us into the Old St Paul Church which is very beautiful and well maintained. We are lucky to travel on a sunny day so a great view at the Mt Victoria Lookout. The tour really helps me to know a lot about Wellington and I really love it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank NicoleFong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hammonds Wellington Tours also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Hammonds Wellington Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing