We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revised my earlier rating”
Review of Westpac Stadium

Westpac Stadium
Book In Advance
More Info
$570.60*
and up
30-Minute Romantic Helicopter Tour from Wellington
Ranked #36 of 233 things to do in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A modern multi-purpose stadium used for major sporting and entertainment events.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
300 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Revised my earlier rating”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I had previously rated the 'Caketin' 2 out of 5; that was too low. I retuned for the Warriors vs West Tigers match and was more impressed. One is still some distance from the game, but we had good seats on the 50m mark and, generally, saw the game reasonably well. The 'Caketin' is much much better than Eden Park--that's an absolute white elephant, hopeless for watching a rectangular field sport like rugby or league, and should be demolished. But the 'cake tin' is still not as good as Mt Smart when it comes to viewing the action. A real downer at the 'cake tin' is the food; it is veryy, very basic, except for the prices, which are outrageous. Spotless catering has the contract, it appears, their casual staff are not particularly good at making coffee, even though one is charged cafe prices.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MykieHamiltonL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    69
    26
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
468 reviews
213 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Ok stadium, poor rugby team!”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We had the chance to go and watch the Hurricanes and we were disappointed with their standard of play and their inability to do the basics correctly. The stadium was good, but food and drink was slightly over priced in our opinion. Stadium is very handy for the trains and is not too far from city centre.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wellington Sevens February 2014”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

What a fantastic stadium! Love the purpose-built, super wide entry walkways (not sure what to call them), that easily cope with thousands of people exiting at the same time. Love the circular facilities underneath the grandstand, and absolutely love being so close to the entertainment with big screens at convenient locations.
The Sevens weekend was the best (and biggest) party we've ever been to. So much fun! Yes there was drunkenness. Yes there were some clowns as a result. Yes it rained and people got wet but it wasn't nearly as bad as the media made out. Generally people are there for the same reason... to dress up, have fun, watch some rugby but mostly to people-watch. The mix of music, rugby, competition, half-time entertainment fun and games is an absolute winner!!
We're definitely going again!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SeonieNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Stadium is good except..”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is an interesting event venue, once you are in the stadium it is great, the views of the field are brilliant from every perspective.

There is a major problem with access to the stadium. Parking is downstairs and you are minutes away from the train station which is excellent however...with the Wellington wind and the often wet weather you are likely to get drenched before you even get into the arena. Take an umbrella, warm coat and raincoat to be prepared. I really dislike the walk to the entrance and have actually paid for a taxi to drive us to the entrance to avoid the bad weather conditions and walking exposed in the open.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank otila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Everywhere here gives you a view”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Watching footy here means you can always see the game and watching Bon Jovi here with the whole arena of 36,000 people singing along was pure magic, its nicknamed the cake tin because it is round and hallow, it is a great venue, recommended

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Westpac Stadium also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Westpac Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing