We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Breakfast and Warm Hospitality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gourmet Stay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gourmet Stay
Certificate of Excellence
Cyberjaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast and Warm Hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

First of all, the location is excellent - you don't need a car to go around as most of the city's attractions are within walking distance like Te Papa museum, the waterfront and shopping haven in Cuba street (great place for vintage). The roads can get a lil confusing (to me) but somehow it such a delight walking without a map, examining the great architecture of Wellington. Mark (the host) is the right person to ask about this ;)

The room is clean, modern and minimalist, with small bedside table and working desk to put our laptop and stuff, the bed and LCD tv. Luckily we packed light, so the room setup is not much of a problem...although tip-toeing to shower is a bit of a challenge and somehow gives me a flashback of hostels.

Ohh...the breakfast, the food!!! Its just a wonderful treat to start your day. No doubt a lot of visitors here just love the food here. Wholesome, homemade and yummy... :)

Warm and friendly hosts, great food, clean and modern room (regardless of bathroom setup). All in all, it was a lovely stay for a short trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rozerozeroze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    116
    27
    8
    0
See reviews for
72
161
57
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

My wife has stayed here previously and booked again when we were coming up for my mate's 50th. Coincidentally, the party was two blocks down the road so easy stagger distance back. The Hotel's location is extremely handy to all that Wellington has to offer and Mark and Anne are genuinely obliging and gorgeous hosts.
We stayed in Room 1 on the top floor which for some maybe a bit of a haul to get their gear up. However, well worth it, lovely clean and crisp room with a fab patio and our own spa. NICE.
Will come again, thanks Mark and Anne

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

We loved our stay at this wonderful little hotel. Our hosts Mark and Anne were friendly and accommodating; we felt very well looked after. We'd arrived straight off an early morning flight from Australia and were very kindly upgraded to a top floor ensuite room on arrival (with bonus easter eggs). The room was comfortable and warm and the next morning we breakfasted on quite possibly the best bacon and eggs I have ever tasted (thank you Miriam).
The hotel itself is centrally located within easy walking distance to Courtenay Place, Cuba Street and the museums. Wifi was great. Thanks for a great stay, especially to Anne and Lily for your extra help. We would love to stay here again when we next visit Wellington.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monotreme3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

Lucy and Mark, our hosts, did everything to make our stay in Room 1 comfortable. Positives were the location near Te Papa Museum, Cuba Street restaurants, the modern fixtures and overall cleanliness, an excellent large shower, the private jacuzzi and the cafe on the first floor.
The room was quite small for us as we had a lot of luggage on a long trip which we carried up 4 floors (Mark helped). Also, the was really nowhere to store clothing or larger items other than a small deskl in an alcove by the door. If you are travelling light, no real issues and the private deck is huge.
Things we would like to see changed: a towel rack in the bathroom and more towels (there were only two bath towels on a heated rack outside the bathroom); a hair dryer; a better info package with a map indicating closeby locations of sights, restaurants etc. in the room particularly for guests who arrive after dark and do not know their way around.
Overall, it was a good place to stay for two nights, but a longer stay for us would have not been as comfortable for us.
The price and value were OK given the deck and hot tub, however, we had expected a few more amenities.
Excellent food and service for breakfast, lunch or dinner at Floriditas on Cuba Street, a few short blocks away.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HaroldandSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

stayed with my girlfriend for 4 nights over the nzarts festival. the hotel is perfect for central city, easy well lit 10min walk to cbd. cafe downstairs is good for breakfast, nice decor, comfy if simply furnished rooms. rooms are small, but when you consider we only paid nz$10 more per night than we would have for a double room at a backpackers, we thought it was great value. also the personal friendliness from husband and wife owners was a nice bonus.
one thing to note, despite what the website says, most rooms don't have their own bathroom - although the bathrooms are private, they are shared. also, the rooms need reading lamps.
overall, definitely recommended and we'll be staying again in future.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

What a great little place to stay, extremely comfortable beds and nice linens. Perfect for a short break in Wellington. The owners are a lovely people who are quite hands on around the place and extremely approachable if you have any questions.

Would definitely use again for a short Wellington break. Very handy pretty much everything is in walking distance.

Room Tip: Room 4 is a great family room, but be aware there is no lounge area in the room, but hey when you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denysmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

Stayed here to try something different and was really impressed by the little cafe downstairs and the friendliness of staff however the room at $130 was great disappointment.

My room was modern but sparsely decorated and the lighting was all fluorescent giving it a cold clinical feeling. The bed was comfortable and very clean and fresh. Bathroom was fine but the wind was whistling in one of the ducts and create a high pitched whistling sound that continued all day. Very annoying. No hair dryer or shampoo or toiletries provided. No wine glasses or any of those little things that make life easy.

If I was a backpacker this place would be perfect, as a hotel guest I was unimpressed.

This place has great potential with friendly staff and passionate owners not to mention a great little cafe downstairs but they need to work on the comfort level of the rooms to be hotel material.

Room Tip: make sure your one doesn't whistle! request hair dryer in advance, bring shampoo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IssyMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.9 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.4 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gourmet Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gourmet Stay

Property: Gourmet Stay
Address: 25 Frederick Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gourmet Stay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gourmet Stay is a cool little boutique hotel, especially designed to provide excellent accommodation for the discerning budget conscious traveller. Gourmet stay is a comfortable, modern design with soft tones and is warm and inviting and friendly. At Gourmet stay we unashamedly promote Wellington as the culinary capital of New Zealand and support our thriving local artisan producers and suppliers. We have our own coffee bar and deli on the ground floor where you can enjoy breakfast. Lunch items are available to enjoy in house or to take with you as you explore the city. Our desire is to offer food that is locally sourced, nutritious and delicious. We are also able to recommend our favourite bars and restaurants. You will love the convenience of staying in our vibrant location in the heart of all the action. Gourmet Stay is located in Frederick Street, a quiet side street in the centre of Wellington city. There is no need for a car here! It is a 5 minute walk to the entertainment and theatre district of Courtenay Place . We do have several off street car parks available if you require parking.Courtenay Place is also home to a diverse range of excellent restaurants and bars. The lovely waterfront with its many promenades is only 5 minutes away. We are approximately 15 minutes by car to the airport. About 2 kms north of Gourmet Stay is the Railway Station from which a train service to Auckland departs and the station is also the hub for the suburban transport network. We are about 3.0 kilometres from the Interislander Ferry terminal. Ferries leave from here to take you to the South Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Gourmet Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing