We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our gourmet stay”
Review of Gourmet Stay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gourmet Stay
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“Our gourmet stay”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We can highly recommend staying at Gourmet Stay. Located in central and quiet location, it is just around the corner from Wellington's great cafes and shops. The staff were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble. The cafe downstairs is also a gem. Highlights for us was the peace and quiet, the terrace spa and proximity to great coffee, food and wine.

Room Tip: The room with its own terrace and spa on 2nd floor would be our choice again. It is one of only two...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Deborahs737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    123
    30
    8
    2
See reviews for
78
165
62
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Close to the nightlife of Courtney place, but down a quiet side street. Usually go to big hotels, but thought we would try something more boutique. We really enjoyed our stay there, and would happily stay again. The room was first class, cleaned to a high standard. The gourmet cafe incorporated was a bonus, and must be tried!

Room Tip: Interlinking rooms are available so chat with owner re your requirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

First of all: we did not recognize during online booking that most of the rooms do not have private bathrooms. Our room had an adjacent bathroom that we used exclusively as the hotel was quite empty. The room was clean and the bed very comformtable. Everything was completely new. WiFi is free and very fast. The hosts were very friendly and chatty, and even offered to use the laundry and parking space on their grounds. You must not miss breakfast in the associated cafe - home-made jam with thick slices of freshly toasted bred. The property is in a very quiet side street and short walking distance to Cuba Street.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RapperRini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

This hotel is more like some rooms at the back of a (very good) cafe. Good location near Cuba St and a nice walk to everything. Very helpful and personable hosts. Ideal if you are doing a foody visit to Wellington as they know the places (just stick with the hotel cafe for breakfast though - great)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
157 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Being offered a cup of tea in my room was a winner for me when I arrived late evening. Small hotel in old printing press building. Its tucked away in a quiet central upper Wellington street.The funky cafe in the hotel was excellent. Its very well done basic accommodation with comfortable bed, small room and my bathroom was across from my room. Having said that you can get rooms with ensuites. Be warned they dont supply all those sachets with shampoo etc which I didnt mind at all. I think you need to ask for a haridryer as I couldnt find one, same with iron.

Room Tip: Ask for ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bianca5699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecce, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

We booked through an on-line booking company. When we arrived there was some confusion about our booking. Both Mark and Lucy tried resolve the confusion, but we were still unable to get the room we booked. Even though I believe the fault was with the on-line booking and not with Gourmet Stay, the next morning, without prompting from us, we were offered two free breakfasts, and a discount on our booking price. The food was excellent, and I had one of the best cups of coffee I have in a month in NZ.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiefiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2011

A fantastic little hotel in a central but tucked away spot. Not knowing Wellington particularly well, our our host was very helpful with restaurant suggestions (all of which were spot on) and with directions. We loved the ambiance of the hotel and the breakfast was delicious. The room was lovely and clean and tastefully decorated. Often I am cold overnight in hotel rooms but the bedding was excellent. The shared bathroom was luxurious and the towels fluffy. Excellent value for money. I will be recommending to friends.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jodie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GourmetStay1, Owner at Gourmet Stay, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Thanks for your review. Our aim is make your stay as special as possible. Its pleasing that you enjoyed the room and our assistance. Thanks a million.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.4 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
0.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gourmet Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gourmet Stay

Property: Gourmet Stay
Address: 25 Frederick Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gourmet Stay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gourmet Stay is a cool little boutique hotel, especially designed to provide excellent accommodation for the discerning budget conscious traveler. Gourmet stay is a comfortable, modern design with soft tones and is warm and inviting and friendly. At Gourmet stay we unashamedly promote Wellington as the culinary capital of New Zealand and support our thriving local artisan producers and suppliers. We have our own coffee bar and deli on the ground floor where you can enjoy breakfast. Our desire is to offer food that is locally sourced, nutritious and delicious. We are also able to recommend our favourite bars and restaurants. You will love the convenience of staying in our vibrant location in the heart of all the action. Gourmet Stay is located in Frederick Street, a quiet side street in the centre of Wellington city. There is no need for a car here! It is a 5 minute walk to the entertainment and theatre district of Courtenay Place . We do have several off street car parks available if you require parking at an extra cost.Courtenay Place is also home to a diverse range of excellent restaurants and bars. The lovely waterfront with its many promenades is only 5 minutes away. We are approximately 15 minutes by car to the airport. About 2 kms north of Gourmet Stay is the Railway Station from which a train service to Auckland departs and the station is also the hub for the suburban transport network. We are about 3.0 kilometres from the Interislander Ferry terminal. Ferries leave from here to take you to the South Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Gourmet Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing