We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely home away from home”
Cottage Frontage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage Frontage
Island Bay Sunset Double Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Cottage Frontage
Island Bay Sunset
Double Bedroom
Kitchen
Living Area
Single Bedroom
Bathroom
View from living room
Kitchen,Dining,Living Room Panorama
Courtyard and Bench Seat
Local Paua Shell (Abalone)
Entry Gate to Cottage
Local Kina shells
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Wellington, Greater Wellington, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
alswife82
Austin, Tx
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely home away from home”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We were lucky enough to spend three nights in Wellington at Jonathan and Jetta's beautiful Island Bay Cottage in mid-June. The location, just across the road from the bay, was perfect. Access into the city was easy. We had a rental car, but there were several buses that passed the property as well. The weather was not the best during our visit, but we made the best of it and found lots of fun in Wellington. The fridge and pantry were well stocked with breakfast items and fresh fruit. This was much appreciated and helped us get off to a great start each morning. We also appreciated the comfy electric blankets, the heated bathroom floor and the selection of DVDs for our use. We received a very thoughtful email from Jonathan the day after we left Wellington inquiring about our trip across to the South Island. (A severe storm hit Wellington the day after we left.) If your travels take you to Wellington, don't hesitate to reserve this lovely cottage! If we are lucky enough to return to Wellington, we will definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort of the cottage and the stocked fridge and pantry!
Liked least: I can't think of a single negative ...
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPS080
Gresham, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Seaside Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed December 4, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Our first trip to New Zealand started at the Island Bay Cottage. A comfortable little cottage with a seaside holiday atmosphere but just minutes away from Wellington's city center. The complete kitchen was fully stocked with everything we needed to start the day. The heated bathroom floor was a nice touch too! We walked across the street and caught the bus to town, too easy. Our last morning the weather broke clear and sunny and we could see the snow capped mountains across the straight to the South Island. Island Bay Cottage was is a wonderful place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Breakfast supplies, Heated bathroom floor
Liked least: Some traffic noise
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theonewat...
Union, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing end to our holiday in New Zealand”
Reviewed August 7, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
4
people found this review helpful

We were in New Zealand to visit our daughter who is studying in New Zealand. On the last weekend we were there, we decided to rent the Island Bay Cottage instead of a hotel and are very glad that we did. It was easy to find, even in the dark, with easy parking right in front of the cottage. The location got us out of the city center, yet kept us close enough to be convenient to our daughter, with or without a car. There is a walk around the bay directly across the street, and a park with a playground within walking distance. Within a short driving distance is the Red Rocks walk to a sea lion colony.
The good size and layout of the rooms, plus the view out the front windows helped to make this stay most comfortable. Kitchen was well stocked as the others have said and fitted with everything needed including a stove with both celsius and farenheit markings on oven thermostat for us Americans. Beds were comfy as were the other furnishings. The beautiful bedroom wardrobe cupboard stored more than enough linens. And I noticed a portable crib stored above that cupboard and remembered the days I had to pack one. The washer and dryer came in handy as well.
We found the owners easy to deal with in booking, plus friendly and helpful on arrival.
The Island Bay Cottage is a great home away from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cleanliness, stocked pantry and fridge
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetenCaro...
NZ and London
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A seaside holiday in the city”
Reviewed April 5, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
3
people found this review helpful

We were in Wellington to visit family and friends - and all who came to see us at Island Bay Cottage agreed that we had found a gem of a place to stay. It would have been easy enough to book a conventional hotel apartment in the city centre, but it would not have had the character, homeliness, and wonderful location of Island Bay Cottage - nor the personal touches which Jetta and Jonathan added to make this place even more special. The fridge and cupboards were filled with food, so that we didn't have to worry about shopping after our journey. Books, DVDs and games were available in the unlikely event that we got tired of watching the waves, sunsets, passing ferries and fishing boats. Island Bay centre was an easy 15-minute walk away. Here there is a good supermarket, library, newsagents, shops and restaurants. We particularly enjoyed the Cheeky Pipi cafe, where seafood was especially good. The no 1 bus took us into central Wellington in about 15 minutes, or for a more scenic ride, the no 23 from nearby Houghton Bay offered spectacular views of Cook Strait, Evans Bay and Wellington Harbour as it wound its way precipitously over Mount Victoria to the city centre.

Island Bay cottage really was a home from home - and it's hard to beat the fresh smell of sea air when you open the front door in the morning. We miss it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - right opposite the waterfront
Liked least: Road busy during rush hours
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel130...
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional views, hospitality, clean & comfortable”
Reviewed October 10, 2011 for a stay in October 2011
3
people found this review helpful

I travelled with my brother and young son for the Rugby World cup, and could not have asked for a better place to stay.

The views were exceptional, and we arrived to a clean, comfortable cottage generously stocked with provisions to self cater breakfast.

Amazing shower, heated tiled bathroom floor, wifi, flat screen tv etc. What more could we ask for.

The cottage is small, so well suited to couples or family with only one child.

Jonathan, the owner could not be more helpful, yet we were left in total privacy.

I would highly recommend staying here, and plan to go back when I next travel to Wellington.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Shower, fully stocked breakfast provisions
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taranaki
Reviewed September 25, 2011 for a stay in June 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$148
/
Night
Week
Month
Make Inquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing