We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back for a third time.”

Harbour Lodge Wellington
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harbour Lodge Wellington
Ranked #28 of 45 Wellington B&B and Inns
Gosford, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Back for a third time.”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This small B&B really is excellent. My wife and I have now stayed here three times, and each time, the owners have been welcoming and have had a great eye for detail and gone that extra mile to make our stay special. The views are stunning, and we really must remember to bring our swimsuits next time so we can try out the pool!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OBC_NMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed here during a recent tour of NZ and were very pleased with both the accommodation and our hosts. The property is in a fantastic position overlooking Wellington harbour and our room was very clean and comfortable with lovely bedding and a very nice bathroom. Lou and Chris (owners) were very welcoming and gave us some really good tips which helped us get the most out of our short stay in Wellington. The Bistro they suggested was excellent and reasonably priced. The breakfast Lou served was lovely and very fresh. Both Lou and Chris chatted and gave us an interesting insight into life in Wellington and made our stay more interesting. When we come back to Wellington we will definitely want to stay at the Harbour Lodge again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We originally stayed here 2 years ago on our first visit to NZ and liked it so much that when we were arranging accommodation for ourselves and our family in Wellington for our wedding, we naturally picked Harbour Lodge.

Lou and Chris (the owners) are friendly, accommodating and honest and do their best to make your stay hassle-free. The rooms are clean and the views are fantastic.

An easy 5-10 min drive to Wellington CBD, or a 30-40 min walk (though up some quite steep hills on the way back).

Can recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OBC_NMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Stayed here during Rugby World Cup depsite their 60% increase in price during this busy period, as we really liked the look of it on website. Very disappointing, very different to their photos. Couldn't use pool, it was mouldy, room not cleaned properly, just about had view of harbour past air conditioning unit, but we did have very good view into other guest room from shared balcony and they into ours. That wasn't mentioned in the description! We could hear guests talking in nearby rooms. Breakfast was poor, communal areas untidy and worn. It's advertised as luxury, it may have been once, but it's not now. So disappointing. We didn't stay as long as we'd planned, couldn't wait to leave and can't recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MM1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Manager at Harbour Lodge Wellington, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
These guests arrived on our busiest weekend of the year, having booked a long time in advance and paid a non-refundable deposit. Before they came to us they were offered free accommodation by a friend. Their criticisms are aimed at getting out of their booking and we deny their criticisms. These guests standout in the last 6 years we have operated the business. We have hundreds of lovely comments in our guest book and by email, and we are often firm friends with our guests by the time they leave and many have kept in touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.5 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,391 reviews
0.6 mi away
Orchard Street Boutique Accommodation
1.2 mi away
Quest on Thorndon
Quest on Thorndon
#8 of 53 in Wellington
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Dwellington
The Dwellington
#4 of 53 in Wellington
211 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
669 reviews
1.7 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Lodge Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Lodge Wellington

Property: Harbour Lodge Wellington
Address: 200 Barnard St | Wadestown, Wellington, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Harbour Lodge Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing