We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yeah, - nar!”
Review of Interislander

Interislander
Book In Advance
More Info
$48.27*
and up
InterIslander Ferry - Wellington to Picton
More Info
$48.27*
and up
InterIslander Ferry - Picton to Wellington
Ranked #12 of 236 things to do in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Cruise with Interislander from Wellington to Picton across the Cook Strait and through the stunning Marlborough Sounds in just over three hours on the three largest ferries in New Zealand. Interislander is one of The Great Journeys of New Zealand and our three ships each feature several outdoor viewing decks that allow you to soak up the gorgeous New Zealand scenery as it floats by. They also have plenty of lounges, cafes and bars to choose from, plenty to keep the kids entertained - including children's play areas - and plenty for mum and dad too. Cars, vans, caravans, campervans, motorhomes, motorcycles and coaches - all vehicles are welcome, just drive on, drive off. And for the rental car providers, just drop off your car at the rental depots within our terminals then pick up another at the other end - easy! Interislander has been sailing happy holiday-makers across the Cook Strait for over 50 years, so you know you are in good hands. And with up to eleven sailings per day, our timetable is bound to fit yours. Don't just cross the Strait, cruise it with Interislander and make your perfect holiday, perfect from the very start.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
new zeland
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
199 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“yeah, - nar!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

when you do this for the first time you'll be out on the deck enjoying what is stunning scenery.....but after the 4th or 5th trip you'll be a local and wonder why a 16km ferry takes 4 hours and why can't there be a better, cheaper means of crossing.
If you are on your hole you'll love it - if you're local - suck it up !

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank majnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,883 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,318
    1,106
    298
    82
    79
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Magical on a fine calm day.”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Cook Strait lies between two islands in the "Roaring 40's", so the ferry ride can be unpleasant in bad weather.
We were lucky with perfect weather, calm seas and the green hills of Marlborough Sounds reflected in the deep water. We were on the "Kaitaki" and spent most of our time on the glass covered deck at the back of the boat.
Once on board it is a good idea to move up to the passenger decks as quickly as possible because the seats with good views get taken quite fast!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Virginia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“You can't beat Cook Straight Ferry on a good day”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

It is a memorable trip on good day but even more on a stormy day :) Perhaps first hour from Wellington it is just another ferry, but it becomes more exciting as you get near Marlborough Sounds. Picture perfect views as ferry goes through the fiords. We have done this trip number of times and always look forward to it. When travelling between North and South Island it is a lot more interesting option than plane.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lindenleaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular on a beautiful day!”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I went in with the expectation of something like the Staten Island Ferry. Completely inaccurate. The boat was spotless, the breakfast was delicious. And a scone trolley? How civilized!

The cruise through the sounds into the Picton harbor are just stunning on a calm day.

Apparently if the seas are rough, this can be the worst 3 hours of your life [read: they were rough the night before and our ferry was delayed because they were still cleaning]. I'd postpone to beautiful weather if your schedule allows.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kaycee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great trip”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

our crossing was cancelled and we had another night in rain lashed wellington but the crossing the next day made up for the wait. the view, especially the approach to Picton, are spectacular.
the ship was busy after the cancellation but it didn't feel overcrowded. the cafe srved a good value for money breakfast and generally we enjoyed the experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank alecver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Interislander also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Interislander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing