We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Interislander tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Interislander
from $45.30
More Info
from $45.30
More Info
Reviews (3,495)
Filter reviews
3,198 results
Traveler rating
1,497
1,206
309
90
96
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,497
1,206
309
90
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south island cook strait marlborough sounds queen charlotte sound hire car ferry crossing top deck inter islander great trip comfortable seating foot passengers both ways ferry service beautiful scenery hour trip return journey free wifi
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 3,198 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

We'd caught the coach from Christchurch and then the ferry to Wellington. Check in was very smooth and we were pleasantly surprised how well presented the ferry was. We opted to sit in one of the cafes with a coffee and watched the stunning scenery float past. We were kept guessing how long before we actually went into open waters. Plenty of places to sit and or order a variety of foods. Just as smooth disembarking and finding transport to our motel.

Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Travelling anywhere with a wheelchair can be challenging but the staff at the Interislander were wonderfully supportive.

We dropped off our rental car at the terminal and a nice lady from Avis helped us transfer our luggage the 100yds or so to the ferry departure lounge. Luggage was checked in and the shore staff arranged for a golf cart to take us + backpacks + wheelchair on board the ferry - negotiating the ramps would not have been impossible but the cart made all the difference!

The crossing is a beautiful journey, initially across the Cook Straits between the North and South Islands and then along the estuary to Picton in Queen Charlotte Sound. Take your camera and be on deck once you cross the straits for some remarkable seascapes but you might need to wear some protection against the wind.

The ferry has a cinema and plenty of eateries and drinking holes onboard and all the staff were very helpful. There is plenty to keep the children occupied and on a sunny day the voyage is a delight - on a stormy day however I am sure things are a little more ‘exciting’.

Arrival was efficient and well practiced and by the time we disembarked (taking a wheelchair down a ramp and lift is much easier than going up and needs little assistance, even though it was available) our luggage was waiting on the arrivals carousel.

Thank andrewwH6622KD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We took the interislander Ferry from Picton to Wellington. When you arrive, you can already see what the level of calmness is of the sea, with 1 being calm and 5 not calm at all.
Once on board, there was a lot of room to sit, a small playground for the kids and even two rooms to put your baby to sleep in a cot. There is a giftshop with a place to drink. And there is a restaurant with mainly bread and fried food.
The view was lovely and once on open sea the Ferry did move a lot from one side to the next (we had level 2, which should not be too bad). At one point, we could not walk in a straight line and we were wondering how it would be if the calm sea level was well not calm at all.
The staff was very friendly and we had a lovely experience.

Thank Lottevanbeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We traveled on the Interislander last week and booked the Plus lounge after reading reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. It’s an excellent value. We traveled Wellington to Picton without a car. The lounge was clean with plenty of comfortable seating. Wonderful views from all seating. The breakfast had great selection and plenty of food. They even had a snack set out later with sushi and pastries. Plenty of self serve soft drinks, tea etc. Expresso machine not working so you could go to the coffee stand outside and order it there free of charge. Staff was friendly and attentive. Good WiFi and selection of local newspapers. Wine selection was nice too. We will book again. Best value for sure.

Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

The whole process was smooth and relaxing. Dropping of the hire car was simple - park and put keys in a box. Checking in the baggage was quick and easy (we did get there just before it got busy, about 1 hour before sailing). The ferry had plenty of facilities and comfortable seating, making the crossing a real pleasure. Lots of space outside too for photos of the scenery, especially on approaching South Island. Baggage pick up efficient and hire car ready just outside. All good!

Thank Bigjake33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

The inter islander trip we took was extremely smooth and very comfortable. I was a little concerned at first because I get terribly seasick. However the day we travelled the trip was extremely pleasant and enjoyable. It was a terrific way to travel between the north and south islands. The scenery along the route was fantastic. I was pleasantly surprised to see all the different food and beverage offerings available. As one who normally shuns boat travel I would not hesitate to travel on the inter islander again. I highly recommend it.

Thank aurellangevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Did a return trip to South Island. I had to change my ticket and the staff were very helpful. The ferry gets busy so you can pay extra to use one of the lounges which gives u more room and peace - I thought this was worth it as you get food and drink included in your ticket. The whole process was painless.

Thank kerry898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

I just wanted to say how easy it was to travel by bus & train and onto the ferry. The shuttle from Wellington railway station makes the whole process very easy. Much better than flying, and wonderful scenery!

Thank Inspire56104035621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

This is the ferry that you take to get from the south to the north island and vice versa. It’s big and comfortable like a cruise ship. It has 2 cafes, a cinema and kids play area. You can bring your car or camper and takes about 3 hours to cross.

Thank Samiya7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Did the crossing on a calm and sunny day so spent a good part of the time on the outside deck enjoying the views which could almost compete with those of Milford Sound. Was lucky enough to spot some penguins, and a small pod of dolphins that followed the ferry for a while. Bought a decent light meal in one of the cafeterias. Nothing to complain about! This is definitely the best way to travel between the islands as a tourist... if the weather is not too bad.

Thank KimiK48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews