We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tapas to share with out of town friends”

Havana Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #58 of 938 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Situated in colourful and cosy historic cottages, Havana is an award winning cocktail bar & restaurant serving a diverse range of Spanish inspired tapas and seasonal plates. The bar supports local and international musicians and DJ's three nights a week for your listening pleasure.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Tapas to share with out of town friends”
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Caught up with my very good traveling mate and his family celabrating the completion of there kids stint at Uni. Not my choice but a large group of us ended up at Havana for dinner on a Monday night.
The restaurant was humming and we got a large table, the helpful staff suggested we work out our budget and they provide a selection of tapas to suit! Great idea and the food was filling and very tasty. I enjoyed the lamb shoulder and slow cooked pork. Prawns were great also.
I would recommend this place when you are with a large group and you want flavor !!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stusbreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    80
    19
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Maybe the wrong day ...”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The place looks nice and it's well decorated. Therefore it's a shame that the service is so bad.
It looks like they have enough customers and so they didn't take great pains to do their job.
Even the bartender made the wrong drink for me and I had to take it. I was told that I ordered it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“You may look like a Hipster but you need to shave your armpits”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

A lovely locale with service that was, I thought, superbarondo. Attentive, witty, and not too condescending with a touch of elegance that was substantive. Yes you.

Food looked like an interesting book with a fancy cover but failed to satisfy.

The back smoking area felt like Poor Fidel's and was filled with Hipster wanna bees.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Atomic T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Below everything I experienced before around the world.”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Service is quite bad and the quality is just average.
We went there to enjoy the evening. I had the feeling they just don't like foreign people and they were searching any reason to make it uncomfortable for us in there.
It were just a bad feeling and I will never ever go there again.
I can't recommend this bar.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun and funky”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Housed in two old cottages with the bar in one and the restaurant in the other, both busy, we were probably lucky to secure a table for two in the restaurant without a booking.
The place and staff both have personality and they make a pretty good cocktail from a list with punchy amusing descriptions and also offer a fair selection of reasonably priced wine by the glass.
The place has a good buzz. The waitress explained how the menu worked and that the dishes would trickle out as they were made, so best to share everything. You are not talking a formal dining experience here. The menu was interesting and the dishes well executed and tasty and not expensive.
Check their website as they do have live music and themes for various times of the day or week so you could have quite an interesting time here.
My first glass of wine took a long time to arrive and they comped it. Nice of them. The aioli w their version of patatas bravas is excellent, as is the Cabernet Sauvignon vinaigrette on the rocket salad. The Valdeon blue cheese butter on the aged beef fillet skewers is a nice play on a classic dish and the beef was deliciously tender.
A casual, buzzy fun experience with better than expected food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPD332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Havana Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing