We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worth a look in”

Ancestral Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #472 of 908 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“worth a look in”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We didn't eat here but they had some kind of barbeque bar at the outdoor courtyard bar which looked cool. Heated concrete seats and nice architecture if you want a (very spacious) bar area you can have a ciggie in! Cool booth seating in another area. It was chilled out and relaxed when we went in. Go and see for yourself I say! :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank Sal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    38
    23
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
129 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Pretentious And Pleasant But If You Are Going For The Food Your Time Will Be Wasted ”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

The atmosphere is dark, the staff are helpful and unobtrusive and the wines are very good but horrendously overpriced. It is very easy to have a relaxing time at Ancestral and if you have extremely deep pockets and want to be seen somewhere trendy then this is the place for you. The food is a mish-mash of faux Chinese and modern flourishes such as foam and purée and it is not worth making the journey to Ancestral if it is the food you are interested in.

Helpful?
Thank GallopingGourmet51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A splendid evening.”
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Had dinner here with my partner after work and was blown away by the great service and food.

The interior is beautiful. The dark lit areas are intimate and perfect for couples. We had the pork belly, chilli prawns, scallops and a beautiful mango, coconut desert. Our waiter was very attentive and made the experience even better.

Thank you very much.

Helpful?
Thank stevenlogiacco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
134 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent service and great food - very expensive and pretentious though!”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Had a pleasant evening on Friday night with hubby and friend. The restaurant serves food in the style of sharing plates, which is great as you can try lots of everything. We enjoyed the pork belly and cucumber salad, scallops, and dim sims to start - foam over the dim sims was very strange but the scallops were wonderful. Enjoyed beef tenderloin, birds nest prawns and duck for mains and the duck was really good. Had some rice and chinese coleslaw too. Think we overdid it a bit with the ordering but managed to eat it all. Had caramelized rice pudding with banana icecream and coffees to end.
Overall it was really good but I don't think I would return. Meal for three was $250 and only included 3 beers and 1 wine so was really expensive too.
Great place for Friday night drinks and reminded me of Matterhorn on Cuba Street.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NicolaMaycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great decor - terrible service - average food”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I love Asian / Chinese food but not what I had at Ancestral - lacking freshness - over spiced and salted and to top it of really lousy unhelpful waiter.

The outside bar area looked good - probably a good option for a drink and snack but not dinner.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TF66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ancestral Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Ancestral Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing