We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great date night place”

Ancestral Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #407 of 931 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great date night place”
Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Classic flavours married with New Zealand sensibilities. Great ambience and food. Expensive but always a good night out. Cigars out the back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 23535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    39
    23
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Never fails”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Working in Wellington for 18 months meant a chance to try a few great restaurants. Ancestral is well positioned along the Courtney Place strip with a subdued facade that is easy to miss bec ause it is more subtle than some of its rowdy neighbours. The food and the service have always been very good, with the exception of one slip-up where a booking went in for the wrong date. However, when I arrived the staff were most accommodating. The food is always brilliant, very clearly cooked and presented for sharing and with variety for egetarians, vegans, meat and fish lovers alike. The wine list is good, too, with some very nice bottle of something "special" in the "cellar". The duck is great, the prawns delicious, the crayfish on hot stones just wonderful, the clams a real surprise and the desserts are completely unnecessary and to die for. Do it. Getting a booking wrong, being kept waiting 10 minutes to be noticed upon entry one time and a penchant for playing their stereo somewhat too loud for such an establishment has robbed them of a five-star rating. But when in Wellington do try it. It's become a favourite. Wonderful.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jandjcallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Asian”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Went to Ancestral for the first time last week food and service were excellent. The 20 hour half duck was superb as was the black pepper beef, my partner was really impressed with the Canterbury poussin. We will go back for the eight treasure duck (three day preorder!) Amazing fitout and the service from our San Francisco based waiting staff was first
class

Helpful?
Thank geesee2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“One of our favourites.”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Great food and excellent service. Asian food with a difference. Whether you are a couple or a group, I recommend that you order several dishes to share, and accept the recommendations of your waiter.The location in Courtney Place and quick service, means that It's an ideal restaurant to eat before going to the theatre. During the recent International Arts Festival in Wellington, we dined at Ancestral several times before wandering down the road to the theatre. The restaurant staff ensured our meals were served promptly so we were always out the door in plenty of time to get to our show.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Ancestral Beautifully decorated state of the art interior Food perfect and interesting

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ancestral Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Ancestral Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing