We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Bay Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Days Bay Homestay
Ranked #10 of 54 Wellington B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed at Days Bay Homestay for two days last weekend to take a trip down memory lane for my husband who spent some of his childhood just down the road. We loved Days Bay - the room had the most spectacular views, it was clean and comfortable and John made us so welcome. Breakfasts were great - with lovely home made bread and local produce - just what was needed - and John's recommendations for evening eating were spot on, Easy to visit Wellington on the local ferry which was a great way to get into the city and lovely to come back to the calm of Days and Eastbourne bays in the evening. We are planning another visit already and look forward to meeting Annette then - unless of course we can persuade you to visit us in Devon first and return some of that amazing hospitality! We might have a spa pool by then.

Room Tip: Only one room but it is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NonsuchHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, Owner at Days Bay Homestay, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you Penny. I especially enjoyed your visit because Kit got me into the water & I love snorkelling in the waters in front of the house - I have a favourite spot ;-)
Next time you visit I am sure Annette could not be called away at the last minute a second time so I am sure you will meet her. As for us visiting, well we are still trying to plan and find time and resources to decide on where our holiday will be this year - tis a very long process this time LOL However, we also plan to travel to your part of the world next year so don't be too surprised if we turn up.
I enjoyed your stay and do hope you will return soon, we have so many more places to take you, eg, this weekend we visited the Rimutaka rail trail on our bikes and it was lovely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
27
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed with Annette and John for a long weekend holiday and loved every minute of it! Their breakfasts were delicious, especially the fresh bread! We also loved watching movies on the iPad! Annette and John were so helpful without being too "in the way". Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Libbiweber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, Owner at Days Bay Homestay, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you, your weekend was a great spring weekend, we are having a similar weekend today, lovely sun and calm. Look forward to your return, plenty more to see and do in Wellington :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed for three nights in John and Annettes lovely B&B. The location is fantastic, just a half hour ferry ride to the city, but a world away from the buzz of the city in a lovely area of Wellington. The hosts are delightful and add to the whole experience. Wake up to the smell of delicious home made fresh bread each day. The view from the guest suite is great - a constantly changing marine scene - very special.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OliveAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, Owner at Days Bay Homestay, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you, it is lovely to have people visit for their holiday as you did. It is especially good to have Auckland guests, most often our NZ Holiday guests come from Wellington. We look forward to your return - next time you manage time out :-)
BTW, You must have talked nicely to the Frangipani, it has since flowered profusely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

When making our travel plans (starting on the north island, then ferrying to the south and later back to the north island again) we looked for a great place to stay in Wellington, and we could not have found any better!
When we arrived late in the evening (there was just too much to see on the way to Wellington) we first got a hint from John to quickly drive about a mile back - Orcas swimming in the bay, close to the beach. Quite a special welcome (and awesome photo opportunity). When getting back to the B&B half an hour later we were greeted with a glass of wine and had some nice talks, a welcome to remember.
We could write lots about the wonderful breakfast, but just look at the praise in other reviews, we totally agree with those.
John and Annette provided us with great tips for dinner and a roadmap to Weta, so we did not have to worry about anything.
The frangipani blossoms accompanied us for quite a few days after both stays, wish we had such a wonderful plant here at home.
And thanks again for lending us the IPAD, it really helped in planning some additional stuff, and guess what: Now we own our own one (and the phone as well).

Room Tip: The Crows Nest Suite is just awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M-C-B_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, Owner at Days Bay Homestay, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments - I was equally excited to see the Orca and even more so for you to see them. My surprise included seeing you wave to me walking by below following the Orca as they swam past our front deck while I was taking my photos from the Crowsnest! We try to encourage the Orca to swim past for every guest, but unfortunately they came to Days Bay last week a couple of days before the next guest.

The Frangipani in the Crowsnest managed to bloom all winter and is now sprouting and sending out blooms from last years racemes - wonderful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, AK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Days Bay Homestay is the best B and B experience I have ever had. John and Annette were open, welcoming and easily became new friends. The location was perfect for me. I had a large conference in Wellington, and loved the 20 minute ferry in the morning to gather my "conference self" and the ride back on the ferry to chill. Once back in Eastbourne, it was like coming home. That might sound odd, but it was very real. John and Annette always offered tea or a glass of wine (depending on when I came 'home') and I felt very comfortable either joining them, or going up to the Crows Nest and enjoying my fantastic view of the bay. John showed me penguins, I got to watch blustering wind whip across the bay, and the full moon shining on me in bed. I loved the bikes and hikes. I love riding out to the light house, and stopping at the pub on the way back to Days Bay. The building is beautifully designed, the room perfectly appointed and the hosts are new lifelong friends.

Room Tip: The Crows Nest is the best. Watch the seagulls, the moon, the sun and enjoy either solitude, or if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarciaAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, Owner at Days Bay Homestay, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
What a confidence booster thank you Marcia. I see you are a Senior Contributor to Trip Advisor, which places your review as one of our most celebrated. We look forward to a return visit to Alaska in future. It was great to have you here for a long stay, it certainly makes it easier to get to know someone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

The setting and the house are just awesome ... with harbor views amongst the
most striking in the world. Our time with you was far too short ... we
found your friendly relaxed welcome very appealing and you gave us just the
right amount of personal attention... warm but not intrusive, interested,
interesting, very COOL indeed as to food (Annette your mueseli was YUM)
and coffee and conversation. 3 Michelin Stars from us (there is just one restaurant in NZ that has
achieved this status ... Rata in Queenstown and you top that by miles).
Highly recommended!

Mary Greig-Clayton and Barry Clayton

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, Owner at Days Bay Homestay, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thanks you for your praise Mary, you are welcome back at any time. We hope to be able to meet up with you again at Christmas when we pass through Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We really enjoyed our 4-day stay at Days Bay Homestay, it really is a fantastic place to stay. We stayed in the Crows Nest Suite; a beautiful room situated at the top of this eco-house, giving great views across the harbour. The room was beautifully styled and well appointed with tea/coffee making facilities, additional heating and a large walk in wardrobe to store our cases. An iPad was also made available to us during our stay, which included guest information and a selection of useful apps.
The homestay is ideally located for those wanting easy access to the city, whilst not staying directly in the CBD. Eastbourne village is an easy 10 minute walk away and the ferry wharf is a 10 minute walk in the other direction, taking you straight into Wellington CBD (Queens Wharf) every 30 minutes or so.
The breakfast each morning was great; a choice of cooked or continental breakfast, fresh bread and juices - this kept us going all day :-)
We felt right at home here, which is testament to the way John and Annette run the B&B, attentive whilst not being intrusive. We also had a very enjoyable evening having a good chin wag over a few beers, which was a lovely addition to our stay.
We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and would highly recommend the homestay for travellers wanting peace, quiet and tranquility with friendly, welcoming hosts.
Thank you John and Annette for such a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo_and_Jonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, Owner at Days Bay Homestay, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for being such interesting guests! I guess it helped that we are both in the IT industry, having a lot in common. Looking forward to your next visit to New Zealand, now that you are planning to return for longer. I hope you do come to Wellington, it would be great to meet up again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
6.3 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
6.5 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
6.2 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
3.9 mi away
Edgewater Lodge
Edgewater Lodge
#3 of 54 in Wellington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
4.6 mi away
Acorns Wellington Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Bay Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Bay Homestay

Property: Days Bay Homestay
Address: 735 Marine Drive | Eastbourne, Wellington 5013, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days Bay Homestay guests quarters are at the top of the tower, the Crowsnest Suite, a private retreat with it's own bathroom, wardrobe and beautiful harbour views. The suite has the entire floor exclusively available to guests and is surrounded by double laminated glass to ensure your stay is quiet and warm. We now offer a second room if you wish to bring your family. Come watch the seabirds diving for fish from below your window, or hear the penguins settling for the night on the beach.Our guests frequently recommend the opportunity to use our iPad, which we provide for the duration of your stay.Take time out to enjoy all that Eastbourne has to offer. Whether it's outdoor activities, fine dining, or shopping; everything to make your stay memorable is within walking distance. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing