We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location with great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dockside

Dockside
Ranked #59 of 908 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: Seafood, New Zealand, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful location with great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We dined here on a busy Friday night, we didn't have a reservation but they were really friendly and accommodating, finding us a table after about ten minutes. We ended up with a great table overlooking the harbour, the service was excellent with great food. We'll definitely come back!

Helpful?
Thank Stormboy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    177
    74
    36
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good standard of dining in unique Wellington location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Our group had ringside view of Wellington waterfront while enjoying dinner. Food very nice, and excellent service. Good wine list to complement meals. Especially appreciated the 'birthday' dessert.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyr Cove, NV
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Overpriced bad food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

3 friends ate at this restaurant and we all agreed they serve bad food and because you get a glimpse of water they charge you extra. Save your money and find something better.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luckyrioInNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wellington Waterfront Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Have been in this place twice now, for dinner and weekend lunch, it was lovely, the service, the food, the setting is excellent. The staff from the bar and the restaurant were very freindly, we can not fault them at all. My favorite was the Terakihi crumbed fish and chips with fresh salads to go with it. People think its a bit pricey but you get quality, otherwise you can go to local fish and chip shop for $10.00 dollars you get big scoop of soggy chips,dripping with fat and a huge battered piece of fish also dripping in fat and if you remove the batter, you are left with a very thin slice of fish, you can almost read a news paper throught it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KorokoroI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

If you're after a great meal accompanied by a fantastic location, then this is the place to go in Wellington! We stumbled upon it during a waterfront walk, and decided on the spot to make a lunch reservation for later that day, and we were not disappointed.

Our visit was on Christmas Eve, and as a result our only menu option was the Christmas Lunch set menu, which offered three courses (with a few of options in each) for $75. Entree included Spiced Crab Bisque and Chilled Asparagus with Sous Vide Free Range Egg, which were both enjoyed by our party, and were absolutely delicious!

For mains, there was a selection of more traditional Christmas fare, as well as more contemporary restaurant items. Our table of enjoyed three of the four options available - Angus Pure Ribeye (beautifully tender - didn't even need a steak knife to cut it!), Confit Turkey Drumstick (which just fell off of the bone) and the Pan Roasted Market Fish, which was a Groper-like white-filleted fish, which was one of the best fish dishes that I've ever had!

For dessert, there were only two options; Mini Pavalova and Berries and Caramel Panna Cotta with Chocolate Mousse. Both were, of course, outstanding.

Despite a completely full restaurant, the service was speedy, friendly and attentive. Wines were happily suggested to go with our dishes, and when a beer was mistakenly brought out instead of a cider, it was immediately replaced with apologies and a smile.

The restaurant itself is beautiful, with an indoor area as well as a covered and enclosed outdoor area overlooking the water and the city behind. We were seated in this outdoor area, which was perfect on the sunny day that we were visiting on. About halfway through our meal, the other half of the outdoor area requested that the roof be drawn back (a feature that I hadn't noticed until then), to let the sunlight and fresh air stream in. To ensure that no one was affected by the sun, the staff handed out free hats to everyone sitting in that section of the restaurant, which I thought was a really nice touch!

If you're in Wellington, I would highly recommend giving Dockside a visit, its fantastic food, service and location can't be beaten!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redrose93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dockside also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Dockside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing