We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful meal”

Siem Reap Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 1,090 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: We serve traditional Cambodian food using our home recipes and the finest, market-fresh local ingredients. Siem Reap restaurant and their staff have been cooking for locals and visitors to the capital in their welcoming, spacious restaurant at 99 Dixon Street, Wellington, since 2007. (Near the corner of Dixon and Willis streets.) Whether you're looking for a Cambodian meal for two on the wing when you're in town, or you're organising a banquet-style dinner or lunch for a corporate group, then Siem Reap's inviting menu options, expert kitchen crew, and friendly front-of-house staff await you. Siem Reap restaurant is named after the region and city in Cambodia that is the gateway to the ancient temples of Angkor. Siem Reap has reinvented itself in the 21st century as the heartland of chic Cambodia for travellers.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I have been going to Siem Rap for many years now and are always impressed with the service and quality of the food. It is always crowded which I take is a good sign for such an established restaurant. Prices are a little higher than I usually pay but worth it.

Date of visit: May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Fishingadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 191 of 269 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

We recently had dinner as a family at Siem Reap. We were a bit hesitant at first, because around 5:30 there were very few customers which can be a bad sign. The prices were also a bit higher than what we normally like to pay(~$25/main) and it was our first time here. And of course with kids it's difficult going to a new place and trying new food. We were pleasantly surprised on all counts and very impressed by both the food and the service.

We ordered Satay Chicken for an entree, which was absolutely delicious. For the mains we had a Ban Chow(rice pancake filled with mince chicken and vegetables with peanut sauce) and Beef Ginger. The pancake was gigantic, and the Beef Ginger was a generous portion as well. We shared all three meals with the kids and they loved it. The flavours were delightful, and the dishes that were rated "mild" were indeed mild(although there are plenty of spicy dishes on the menu as well).

For drinks we had a Nikita mocktail which again was amazingly delicious and quite large.

Service was excellent as well, we never had to ask for our water glasses to be refilled, and the waitress had some excellent recommendations for what to order. We'll definitely be back.

One suggestion I'd make is to have crayons and coloring sheets for children which would've been nice.

Date of visit: June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tincze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Took my boyfriend here who had never tried cambodian cuisine. A nice mix of meat and vegetarian dishes, catering for everyone's needs. Decent size portions, to match the price. Only downside is they don't advise while ordering the rice costs extra (so you may get a surprise when paying that it costs extra).
It's always really busy, so pays to book or you may end up having to eat quick or wait a while for a table.

1  Thank Catherine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We asked for help in our choices as we had not eaten Cambodian food before and the food was absolutely fantastic, the service great and it was quick - just right.

Date of visit: June 2014
1  Thank Jules L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Booked a family dinner based on a recommendation. We were not disappointed. This restaurant has great ambience, a great menu and very good service. Four of us enjoyed a variety of menu options all of which we're flavoursome and very enjoyable. The wine list, and other beverages, provides a good cross section of quality wines and cocktails. The restaurant was fairly busy, however the layout and decor is such that it was not difficult to hold a conversation around the table without straining to hear, which can often be the case.
Staff attentive and professional. A very pleasant evening out.

Date of visit: June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siem Reap Restaurant also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Siem Reap Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing