We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True B&B”
Review of Finnimore House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finnimore House
Ranked #14 of 45 Wellington B&B and Inns
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“True B&B”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

What a lovely place, a true Victorian-style bed & breakfast both in design and service. Two big guest rooms, one filled with books, the other with light. Huge breakfast cooked to order. Everything clean as clean. The best part was Willie, your host, a sweet man with a warming Irish brogue who will help you in every way he can. He shuttled me into town, sent me in the right direction for the various activities I sought, acted as concierge. A nice walk into town if you have 20-30 min, or a quick $15 taxi ride. Wonderful experience all in all.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SNAW2L8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Swansea UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Willie and Kathleen are a delightful, friendly couple who obviously enjoy the company of their guests. The bedrooms are large and airy. The breakfast will set you up for the day. We stayed there before and after our visit to South Island. Even the cat is very friendly !
Alan Thomas, Glanaman, Wales.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Had the most delightful stay in this beautiful family home, rich with culture and charm. Willie & Kathleen are the most delightful, helpful and superb hosts you could wish for. If you are looking for a warm and friendly home from home (complete with the friendly house cat Bilbo) very close to all the attractions of Wellington, you can do no better.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

This was my first visit to New Zealand. The folks at Finnimore House immediately made me feel welcome and it was quite similar to feeling at home. I really appreciated the interaction with them. I did not feel "here it is contact us if you want anything". Casual conversation enabled me to really get to know NZ. They were most helpful with refining my trip through the rest of New Zealand. Both are excellent ambassadors for New Zealand. I rate them to be the highest I could rate.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamorrison1929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

Willie & Kathleen Ryan made us so welcome that, over the 17 nights we stayed there, we almost felt part of the family. It's not a hotel, it's a small B&B with a shared bathroom for the two huge downstairs bedrooms, a shared lounge and dining room. It's an old (1920s style) house on a hill with some lovely art Deco aspects. There's no TV, radio, telephone or mini-bar in the bedroom but we'd happily stay there again for the comfort, the relaxed atmosphere and Willie's marvellous hospitality and breakfasts.
There was tea & coffee making in the bedroom (top up the milk jug from the kitchen fridge as needed), we had our own front door key, there was ample parking and areas to sit out in to enjoy the morning or evening sunshine.
Bilbo the cat was as friendly and well-behaved as a cat could be.
The location suited us, being half-way between the city and where our relatives were living.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
1.9 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
3.3 mi away
Acorns Wellington Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Airport Motor Lodge
Airport Motor Lodge
#22 of 46 in Wellington
138 reviews
1.9 mi away
Airport Motel
Airport Motel
#37 of 46 in Wellington
158 reviews
2.0 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finnimore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finnimore House

Property: Finnimore House
Address: 2 Dransfield Street, Wellington 6021, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing