We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay for those looking for something outside the box.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wellington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lighthouse and the Keep Wellington
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We loved staying at the lighthouse, quirky and quaint. Fantastic and very hospitable host. Breakfast provisions were wonderful and could easily have covered lunch or dinner as well. Views were lovely as was the location. If you are wanting something different and not your conventional motel room, then this is the place. Enjoyed it so much decided to stay on and try out The Keep.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetubmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for The Lighthouse and the Keep Wellington
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 49 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2014

The positives.. Great breakfast supplies. Good views.
The negatives .... The Lighthouse is very tired. I would compare the surroundings to back packer style . I was so looking forward to our stay there but must say as soon as we walked into the ground floor my heart sank. We couldn't wait to get out of the place. The cost of the stay is very overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Littleone1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I have to admit that, out of a mindblowing Australian East Coast and whole of New Zealand itinerary, the one night in the Lighthouse was the peak highlight for all members of the family - unanimously. I was lucky enough to be the one sleeping in the lantern (not before uncorking a bottle of Cloudy Bay Riesling we got earlier in the day on the estate, with the lady of my life). We arrived when it was dark already - I can tell you the feeling of waking up surrounded by the feeble light of dawn and taking in the view of the islands and the sea in front of you and the flowers climbing up the cliff behind you is indescribable. Mr Stokell, was a great host indeed, leaving us a plentiful breakfast - so plentiful that we had a cooked 'breakfast' in the evening and a plentiful continental breakfast in the morning. Needless to say, we all loved it, especially the little one who keeps recounting to all about her stay in a lighthouse. Admittedly, due to the steps etc it may be unwise to stay there with young kids. Mine was five at the time and I would say that that's pretty much the limit - slightly older - 8-9 would be better. Nevertheless, thanks Mr Stokell for the nice experience. And, unlike the rest of New Zealand that seems to be capitalising on its success and blowing prices way out of proportion (much more expensive than it was in 2011), Mr Stokell still kept his prices very reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NevilleCalleja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed in the lighthouse for my partners birthday recently. We live in the city and rode our bikes from Wellington CBD to Island Bay, taking about 30 mins. The lighthouse itself is split over 3 floors, kitchen and bathroom on the bottom, bedroom with tv and dvd player on the middle and on the top, a chill out area with fantastic views over the south coast. As others have mentioned, it's compact, it's got a rustic feel to it, the breakfast options were excellent and we loved it. If you're looking for a unique place to stay in Welly, this is it. An awesome experience. PS. Highly recommended the nearly 'the original thai' in Island Bay for a decent takeaway too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelinspired1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The views from the top floor are spectacular no matter what the weather. Its really lovely up there. The breakfast provisions are great and plentiful. The stairs between floors will not work for anyone with dodgy knees but we were fine, just good for people to be aware of the small winding steps between floors and if you need the loo in the night you need to go down one flight. There were nice wee touches of fresh lavendar and flowers are the place. One thing to really improve the experience would be a top to bottom spring clean, the window ledges, outer surfaces of light swithces, appliances etc were really unclean and for the price you are paying for a break away this was poor, simple regular cleaning of ledges and surfaces would improve this, quality of linens could also be improved... whilst rustic staying in a light house .....the pricing is not rustic so there is a mis match there. You wil enjoy sitting at the top watching the world go by, the ships, the walkers and the amazing sky vistas.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Argamemnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We booked two nights but stayed one. Positives: the lighthouse is just as pictured - it is a great minature lighthouse. The view from the top sitting area is fantastic (and the narrow windy stairways really are that but add to knowing you are in a lighthouse style building!). The bed was comfortable. The breakfast choices provided were plentiful. We didn't meet Bruce but spoke to him by phone and found him helpful. Negatives: the lighthouse can shake a lot in windy weather (it's made of wood not stone) but then we were in "Windy Welly" - the gale force winds we had for the night we stayed may not be that unusual. When we stayed at the beginning of February the place could have done with a spring clean: while the bedding, towels, t-towel, shower area, kitchen surfaces and such like were perfectly clean other things like blinds, floors, windows, outside of fridge etc did need a spring clean. There are no window coverings in the bedroom: it suits the style of the building but does mean it will get light early if this is important to you for sleep. There was no hair dryer (but otherwise equipped). The toilet and shower facilities are on the ground floor and the bedroom on the next floor up - not a problem for us but could be for others if a narrow stairway at night is a problem. The shopping and restaurants/cafes in the immediate area are not great - with the exception of the Bach Cafe which is a little further round the bay - we had lunch there one day we were in the area and loved the view and relaxed atmosphere but we don't think it was open into the evening.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

What a fantastic place to come and recharge. The Keep is a fabulous building, so rustic and comfortable. The view from the top was so wonderful and Bruce had left a great selection of food for our breakfasts. We found that the buses didnt run in the weekends (from outside The Keep) and were only at certain times from the bus stop on Hougton Bay road - so something to think about if wanting to use public transport. We really had a lovely time and would love to try The Lighthouse next time! Thoroughly recommend The Keep as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellington
6.5 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,399 reviews
0.4 mi away
ASURE 83 By The Sea Petone
6.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ava Lodge
Ava Lodge
#1 of 6 in Petone
90 reviews
6.4 mi away
Wellesley Boutique Hotel
Wellesley Boutique Hotel
#26 of 46 in Wellington
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kenlea Cottage
Kenlea Cottage
#1 of 1 in Petone
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lighthouse and the Keep Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lighthouse and the Keep Wellington

Address: Island Bay, Wellington, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing