We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"The Keep"”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wellington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lighthouse and the Keep Wellington
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“"The Keep"”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

What a fantastic place to come and recharge. The Keep is a fabulous building, so rustic and comfortable. The view from the top was so wonderful and Bruce had left a great selection of food for our breakfasts. We found that the buses didnt run in the weekends (from outside The Keep) and were only at certain times from the bus stop on Hougton Bay road - so something to think about if wanting to use public transport. We really had a lovely time and would love to try The Lighthouse next time! Thoroughly recommend The Keep as a place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
39
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I don't think I would have ever considered this as an accommodation option without looking on tripadvisor. Winds were blowing a gale - but we just were all snug in the Lighthouse - although you need to read one of the manuals to make sure it wont blow away. One of the most memorable stays on our NZ trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Llewster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is a very unique experience, the views are incredible. We had a great time just watching the sunset and listening to the waves. Linen was a bit dated for the price but the awesome breakfast was a bonus. Never actually met the owner but he was easy to communicate with over email.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odijk
Level Contributor
169 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Lighthouse is a lovely place with a nice view of the bay. The location is romantic and the 360 view from the top of the lighthouse is very nice. You can watch how the air changes colour when the sun goes down and the moon comes up. Watch the big cruise ships go by.

The fridge was stuffed with breakfast goodies, so you can eat your heart out. So don't worry about your breakfast, your sorted.

Only downside is the lack of restaurants in the direct vicinity. The cooking facilities in the kitchen are focussed on making breakfast and not dinner, so if you want to make your own dinner, you are limited to an electric frying pan and a microwave. If you can do your magic with that, your fine. Otherwise go to the small shopping area with some restaurants nearby. You will need a car to enjoy your stay here, although there is a bus stop pretty near.

Room Tip: Nice place to stay, pretty sure the keep is nice too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KvBerloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Lighthouse for 2 nights and we really enjoyed it. Bruce stocked it with an amazing array of breakfast foods. The ambience of this place is amazing, very romantic. We spent a lot of time in the little sitting room on the top floor, enjoying the beautiful views and watching the ferrys.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

When I stumbled upon the Lighthouse while planning our four-week trip through New Zealand, it was instantly clear that we would spend a few days there. And so, in Mid-October, we had a fabulous weekend at this beautiful place. Booking by e-mail was uncomplicated, the place is easy to find and not far from the city. When we arrived, Bruce was there to meet us and to show us around. His lighthouse is a little jewel.

The kitchen on the ground floor was big enough for two days, and Bruce had left everything we needed for a good breakfast. The bathroom is a bit small, but well, when you’re staying in a lighthouse I don’t suppose you want to spend all your time in the bathroom. My partner is a very tall fellow and he was comfortable enough. The bedroom on the first floor was really cosy and warm since Bruce had turned on the heater well before our arrival. And the living room / viewing platform at the top is a real treat. It was raining buckets that weekend, so we spent most of the evening there watching the ferries in the bay.

It’s a really romantic place and we cannot recommend it highly enough!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SeekersLittleHelper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

When I stumbled upon the Lighthouse online I knew that we had to stay there. This was the last night of a campervan trip around the North Island and it was the perfect (and after a week of camping, luxurious) end to the trip. I have been obsessed with lighthouses since I was a kid and staying here was an absolute treat. The views of the bay from the top made it, watching the Interislander ferry go back and forth. Very romantic! Beyond simply lighthouse=awesome, the accommodation was very good. Everything is tidy, comfortable, stocked with plenty of good breakfast options (eggs, muesli, crumpets), and Bruce the owner is very kind. Although the kitchen is small with just a hot plate but not a stove/oven, the cafe down the street is great and the lighthouse is just a 10 minute drive to the CBD. This was a wonderful way to spend our first time in Wellington and I am looking forward to returning!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mallory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellington
1.9 mi away
Brentwood Hotel
Brentwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kilbirnie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
3.5 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
3.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
3.1 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ohtel
Ohtel
#11 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lighthouse and the Keep Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lighthouse and the Keep Wellington

Property: The Lighthouse and the Keep Wellington
Address: Island Bay, Wellington, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing