We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant with extra features makes for nice night out!”
Review of La Bella Italia

La Bella Italia
Ranked #25 of 931 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $21
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: From the moment you step through our door, you will feel like you are in Italy. A unique combination of a Restaurant, Cafe and Retail shop, La Bella Italia in Petone, Wellington was born from director Antonio Cacace's passion to educate Kiwis about the beauty of traditional, authentic Italian products and cuisine.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Restaurant with extra features makes for nice night out!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Alovely 3 course meal of Italian crusine was had by four adults. All felt it was great value for money. The addition of shop in restaurant seeling Italian foods and goods was a lovely addition as was the large selection of meats and cheeses for purchase. Would definately return to this resturant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Faye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    67
    31
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great team at La Bella Italia”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have been to La Bella Italia many times and it has never disappointed. It is a vibrant restaurant run by a competent team. We are now greeted as regulars and have had consistently excellent service. It is more than a restaurant, with a large deli section and shop with everything you need for an Italian meal at home.

The food is fresh, seasonal and always well-prepared. The pizzas and whole fish are particularly good and the wine list complements the food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Molly72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A little bit of Italy in Wellington”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This restaurant bought back memories of Rome. The tables are really close together and cosy just like when we were in Rome. Went here for Brunch with a Grab One Voucher. Food and service was great. Love the shopping as we managed to spend a lot more than we anticipated in the Deli and shop section!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Definitely average”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We went to Bella Italia with a couple of friends for lunch, with fond memories of earlier visits. WHat a disappointment. This lunch was definitely average: we had to ask for service in order to get anything ordered - more than once. The food was very ordinary - seemed like the same sauce adorned everything, and the potaotes were old and tired.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Delicious double date”
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

I went to this restaurant with my husband on a double date with friends, we picked it from the best looking menu on offer online. Although whenbwe got there it wasn't quite what we expected, it definitely wasn't a disappointment. There was a cafe ambience with a busy bustling of diners but we were well looked after by an array of friendly staff. Don't be scared to treat yourself to a entree, main AND a dessert as the portions are just the right size to feel content but not grossly full. All of us enjoyed our meals, salmon, ravioli and the meatballs. There us a variety of yummy gelato ice cream to choice from and I could definitely fit in another one of the hazelnut meringue desserts from the kitchen. Overall a good meal and service was had by all in our party and I would feinately go back again and try another yummy dish. 8 thumbs up from our group and thank you for an amazing night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bella Italia also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to La Bella Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing