We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for meals best for after work drinks”
Review of Foxglove

Foxglove
Ranked #186 of 921 Restaurants in Wellington
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: French, Bar, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Situated on Wellington's picturesque waterfront, Foxglove boasts sweeping views of the harbour from each of its unique bars. Come on in and have a game of backgammon in the Games Room, snuggle up on our cosy day beds outside on the balcony, sneak through the wardrobe and have a perfectly balanced cocktail or fine whisky in Foxtail Champagne and Cocktail Bar, or enjoy a delicious meal designed by Chef Joshua Dodd in our downstairs dining room.Foxglove is also a fantastic place for weddings, held in the Queen's Wharf Ballroom under beautiful chandeliers and lofty rafters. Just email us and come in to take a look for yourself!We look forward to seeing you soon!
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ok for meals best for after work drinks”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The restaurant is ok. Food was average to good. Had crayfish bisque which was lukewarm, but tasted ok. It was excellent to see that they offered gluten free bread.
Mains were very good. Cheese board selection was very limited, offered 3 cheeses out of which 2 were blue vein.
Would have expected that they changed wine glasses and gave us red wine glasses rather then white. They have good wine list and interesting port. First place that I have seen that offered few ports by bottle only (750mls) rather then glass.
Glad to have used entertainment book discount, otherwise would have found this place touch expensive for what they offered.
Service was excellent and would answer any question that we had.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Popal841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    139
    54
    48
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great service, great food”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We celebrated my birthday with lunch at Foxglove and it was fantastic. The service was great, ambience was terrific and the food was fantastic. The wait staff were so friendly and helpful with food suggestions and very professional when serving our food. This restaurant is highly recommended, try it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JimArcherNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beverley
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“FABULOUS!!!!!”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Fab setting on the Dockside in Wellington NZ, had lunch there with my husband, son, daughter-in-law and baby grandson in pram. Staff very accommodating with pram, helped with menu choices, the food was absolutely fantastic, the mixture of flavours was awesome, brilliant choice of seating. Just a lovely lovely lunch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pauline51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Food and location”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were in Wellington for Easter and arrived at Foxglove after 9.00pm on Good Friday hopeful of getting a table for 3. All tables were taken but the very helpful staff said they could fit us in if we did not mind sitting at what is normally the 10 seat banquet table. We were more than happy just to be able to have a table.
We shared the starters of Olives, Pigs head terrine, celery, apple, salsa verde, pistachio crackers and Warm tart of salt roasted beets, radicchio & orange marmalade, sheep's milk cheese, aged balsamic. All were excellent with the best being the warm tart.

Mains were Slow cooked lamb rump, braised shoulder pithivier, heirloom carrots,rosemary, kalamata olives and Pan roasted fish, smoked fish croquette, grilled cos, anchoiade and for desert we shared Banana souffle, muscovado caramel, nutmeg & chocolate ice cream and Dark chocolate fondant, vanilla cream, spice roasted pineapple, anise, pineapple sorbet.

The service and food were very good and I cannot thank the staff enough for setting a table for us.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brisdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great little Restaurant.”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Whilst staying in Wellington for a week, we found ourselves at this restaurant several times. The covered outside area with cane loungers is ideal for drinks and tapas or just for a couple of drinks - very relaxing. Tapas menu was good. The restaurant upstairs also has a great menu, and the food and service were good. We will be back again next time we are in Wellington.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abbymac4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foxglove also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Foxglove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing