We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey tapas”
Review of Duke Carvell's - CLOSED

Duke Carvell's
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pricey tapas”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Food and ambience is great. Service is good and waiter is knowledgable about tastes/ingredients/beverage matches.
My only stickler is the price - it's tapas yet some of the dishes are $18... or more for the finer cuts of meat. So once you have 3 or 4 of those each you are looking at a phenomenal price. I don't have a problem with this in itself as it's very good, - but come on, it's just tapas. Traditionally, tapas was a budget option for eating out and I just struggle with the concept of expensive tapas.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MotorcycleTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    46
    9
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“A super cool place”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

A super cool place to hang out in Wellington. Good vibes and food - I've been here 5+ times and I've always had a great time here - from Business to pleasure.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flowergyaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
1 review
“We could have licked each plate!”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is the restaurant I choose to meet friends at each time I visit Wellington. Consistently great food, excellent service and a buzzy busy ambience. We didn't book (will do next time) but the friendly team fitted us in between bookings and kept us entertained while we waited for a table.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kuperjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
97 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food - excellent service”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Booked a table for 6 on a Friday night. We had a superb waiter who was attentive, but in no way over the top. Food came quite quickly even though it was fully booked. We ordered the small plates to share - the lamb was the stand out, but they were all good. 9.5/10

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canddnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place for dining”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We visited Wellington for the WOW show , Went for breakfast with my daughter and her friend the food was delicious , great service , loved it

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fatin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duke Carvell's also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing