We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Place to relax”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
The beach is a 20 minute walk down a country lane
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Wellington, Greater Wellington, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Flynnwell...
wellington, NZ
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Place to relax”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Fabulous place to stay for total relaxation. Quiet and peaceful with stunning views. The 2 claw foot baths have bubble bath supplied and even a welcome pack is there on arrival.
Will definitely be back again as our two young boys also loved the house. Very private and immaculately clean.

Date of stay: January 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SbearCanb...
Canberra
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A stylish, modern take on a classic farm cottage.”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed a week at Cottage 103 after a family wedding last September. We didn't really know what to expect as it was our first trip to NZ, but the Kapiti area is ideal for a relaxation holiday. There was plenty to do, but the cottage was a great place to relax. We did a big load of shopping in Wellington before driving up and then used the chef's kitchen to make some lovely meals at home. Janine (the owner) also organised for a local restaurant to send a three course meal around to the house one evening which was a real treat.

The house itself is very modern and tastefully decorated, with an open fire, rich furnishings, satellite TV and a large deck overlooking the valley.

My partner made friends with the neighbours (a pony and a donkey), and we enjoyed a day trip to Kapiti Island, walking in the hills and an afternoon of quad bike riding.

We travel frequently and both agree that this was one of our most memorable, and our most relaxing trip. We are in the process to booking another trip to NZ, to return to the Cottage.

Date of stay: September 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A great house
Liked least: Maybe WiFi, but we had mobile reception
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zzmom2
Proctor, Minnesota
1 review
“Picture perfect”
Reviewed January 24, 2012 for a stay in November 2011

This place was beautiful, well kept. would recommend it to everyone.

Date of stay: November 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ambersail...
Europe
1 review
“Spot on”
Reviewed January 24, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

I rented the cottage as the place to spend our wedding night, as we had rented their venue next door to have our wedding reception. I cannot think of a more stunning place I have ever stayed in, and I have been to some really high end hotels etc in my time. The bed was the most delicious comfortable bed I have ever slept in and the entire cottage has been fitted out to the highest standard. I was dying to have a bath in the outside bath but it was too cold as we had not great weather oddly at that it e of year, so I had one in the beautiful bathroom, one of two. We did not want to leave. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in the area, don't muck about, book in, you will not find fault in anything. Janine is also delightful to deal with, very organised, efficient and has an easygoing relaxed and honest manner. You have to stay!

Date of stay: December 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beds and the view
Liked least: There was nothing not to like.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyVardy
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most relaxed vacation we have had in many years!”
Reviewed December 10, 2011 for a stay in November 2011

Fantastic place for a relaxing vacation!
We arrived at the cottage to a full fridge of cheese, wine, bacon, eggs etc... Janine really knows how to make her guests feel welcome.
The cottage has brilliant views and wildlife which we really enjoyed looking at from the deck. We enjoyed the serenity and peacefulness of the cottage.
The beds were the most comfortable that all of us had ever slept in!
The beach was within walking distance and the views were fantastic. The outside bath on the deck was an added pleasure that most hotels could never match.
This place is a HIDDEN GEM that we would highly recommend to anyone who wants to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and stress.
The recently refurbished bathrooms are beautiful and tastefully decorated.
We would highly recommend this place to others who are looking for a relaxing holiday.

Date of stay: November 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and peacefulness
Liked least: There was nothing that we did not enjoy during our stay
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick45...
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“It was great”
Reviewed October 24, 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Everything from the cold wine and cheese plate at arrival to the wonderful delivered dinner was excellent. It was very close to the the train station that we caught to go to Wellington. The scenery out the back deck was amazing. Thank you again Janine for everything...Patrick and Charlene

Date of stay: October 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The fireplace and tub on the deck
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
57galant
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truely magical”
Reviewed September 27, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

This is the most relaxing, romantic place to unwind and just chill out. Peaceful surroundings, lovely and clean, and the outside bath is a magical experience. The luxury of being in the country but still close to the city is a bonus. A real credit to the hosts, Questions and answers are emailed within the same day. A place you will wont to come back to.

Date of stay: September 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peacefulness
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing