We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wellington City Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We were in Wellington for business and the cottage was an excellent choice. The positioning at the top of Cuba was perfect, close to great restaurants and bars, and to our meetings.Inclusive broadband should be standard in all hotels now, and the parking was needed for this trip. The layout of the cottage was great and really handy having cooking facilities if needed. Will be staying here next time in Wellington.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank Pinotphile62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 260 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

We loved staying here - the cottage is beautifully presented and spacious for such a central location. Great for a family (we were two couples and two toddlers and there was still plenty of room inside and out for the little ones to play). Jeff is lovely to deal with and we really enjoyed the whole experience. Thank you!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Situated right on Cuba St, the cottage is a nice comfortable place to stay, and very much central. This is a great positive.
We did notice strange base like noise from the surrounds, but this did not extend into the evening. But I can totally understand how annoying the noise would be on a weekend.
Nice clean property, however the lack of daily room service is somewhat of a negative, regardless if this is a self contained unit. You are given some products upon arrival like shampoo and conditioner but this doesn't last more than one use.
Overall a nice stop over, well kept and clean upon arrival. Just needs some daily room service to propel this into a higher category.

Room Tip: Location cannot be faulted. Cottage quite small but very adequate and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alcan78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityCottages, Owner at Wellington City Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

We are glad you had a great stay! We provide full servicing weekly for guests making longer visits or can arrange daily service on request. However, most guests prefer privacy and the ability to come and go without being affected by cleaning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Jeff and Dean and Calvin the Cat!! They were all great. Jeff met us upon arrival, helped us park in the garage, and showed us around the house and to our room. We had a lovely room with an enclosed patio off the room. Jeff offered the washer and dryer which we took advantage of. He also suggested Hazel for dinner and it was very good. Dean owns a bakery/café so breakfast was outstanding. We prepared what we wanted - in addition to baked goods, there was lots of fresh fruit, juice, eggs, etc. All in all a lovely place and a nice stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susu42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityCottages, Owner at Wellington City Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for the lovely review. Readers should not that this relates to our BnB which is located at a different address and offers different services. Please the BnB section - City Bed and Breakfast - for details and other reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We arrived at 5 Tonks Grove to find a picture perfect cottage in a tucked away location,just off buzzing Cuba Street.The cottage has been restored to a very high standard with a modern shower room and well equipped kitchenette.We loved the original sash windows and general decor,the bed was comfortable too ! We explored the city on foot,not needing to move the car from its free parking space opposite the cottage.Te Papa and the waterfront were an easy stroll away and plenty of quirky shops to see en route.On Friday evening many shops are open late and there is a night market on Cuba with several food stalls cooking while you wait.A very enjoyable stay and 2 nights was not enough!! We will be back and will book to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at 5 Tonks Grove for 3 nights the end of January. The location is superb (just off Cuba Street) within walking distance of most city centre locations. The cottage was as we expected it to be: spotlessly clean and extremely well appointed and comfortable. A quick email and the burnt out lightbulb and lack of coffee were dealt with speedily and efficiently. We needed our windows open at night to cool off, so city noise was a bit of a problem for sleeping, but overall we would highly recommend City Cottages!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estherlenore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

3 of us stayed for 1 night a couple of weeks ago and I would highly recommend City Cottages for anyone looking for a place to stay in Wellington. The cottage was spotlessly clean and decorated to a high standard, the location just off Cuba Street was very convenient, and the owners were really helpful when one of our flights got changed, letting us leave our luggage after we checked out. While not huge, the cottage was certainly big enough for 3 of us with one on a pull out futon, and the kitchen was well equipped for self-catering.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Fatk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.5 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 47 in Wellington
694 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Wellington
Quality Hotel Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 47 in Wellington
1,780 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#13 of 47 in Wellington
2,934 reviews
0.8 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#9 of 47 in Wellington
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington City Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington City Cottages

Address: 5 - 7 Tonks Grove | Cuba Quarter, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range: $114 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wellington City Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two heritage cottages built in 1880 and fully renovated 2010. Each cottage sleeps up two 4 guests (total 8) and comes with a carpark and wireless internet. Located in vibrant Cuba Quarter, within a few minutes walk of most Wellington attractions. Combine with nearby Wellington City Townhouse, Wellington City Studio and Wellington City Bed and Breakfast to sleep a total of 22 people! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wellington City Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing