We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wellington City Cottages
Nearby Hotels
$173
$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$118
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
At Home Wellington(Wellington)
$135
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Novotel Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$112
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
ibis Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$80
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$187
$152
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$115
$92
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Cambridge Hotel(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$57
$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Hotel Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$67
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$202
$116
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveler rating
222
38
4
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
38
4
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstonks grovesliding doorcuba stdoor codelovely cottagethe sofa bedgreat locationprivate parkingwithin walking distancehanging spaceliving areaelectric blanketswasher dryerwe loved our stayoff street parkinginner citywould definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
194 - 199 of 267 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We booked both cottages for nine days and were delighted with the location, layout and presentation of the cottages. We liked the keypad entry which meant we did not have to worry about keys. The bed was so comfortable and the linen was topclass. We appreciated the car space in this busy part of Wellington and the access to some great coffee shops and eateries. We were very impressed with the owner's communications with us which covered everything we needed in a very im ely manner. As we were visiting relatives and hope to do so again sometime we would not hesitate in booking these delightful cottages again.

Room Tip: Either cottage would please
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SRMS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed two nights at City Cottages, #7 Tonks Grove. The cottage is in a private enclave amidst high rise, busy downtown Wellington. Fantastic location and easy entry with a keypad. New interior and well appointed. Immaculate. Great kitchen and laundry facilities. Wi-Fi did not work well and no phone land line or barbecue. Within walking distance of the waterfront and Te Papa museum. #5 and #7 cottages face each other so windows are directly opposite. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank navyman356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I booked this accommodation online a few months before we were due to travel. The communication from the owner was prompt and detailed, leaving us with no hesitations about our journey. We arrived late one evening to find the sofa bed all made up and ready to use (thank you soooo much!), and the cottage in an immaculate condition. We loved the attention to detail given to this property, the sliding door to separate the bedroom from the living area, the brochures left for us to browse through, the extra additions to give life to the kitchen, and the security we felt whilst we were here! Thank you so much for our lovely 2 night stay... we hope to be able to stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bexsta66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Loved staying on Tonks Grove in walking distance of nearly everywhere. Cottages were moved location a few years ago and are quirky accommodation in a great way! Very well thought renovation with everything you need. Most surprised to find a dishwasher! there were no dishwasher tablets left but a text to the owner solved it before the end of the day.
Breakfast provision unexpected in self catering cottage.
Bed really comfortable, sofa less so.
The car parking space really worth having. Stay there!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WellTravelledHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

All enquiries prior to arrival dealt with quickly and efficiently.
Easy access to cottage with keypad rather than a key. The situation of the cottage just off Cuba Street is excellent. On our last night we ate out at Logan Brown's, supposedly the best restaurant in Wellington, which was less than 5 minutes' walk away so very convenient.
Very comfortable bed with good quality linen, not a great deal of hanging space, only 3 wooden hangers on the wall, but plenty of drawer space.
Excellent shower room.
Excellent kitchen facilities, would have liked some disposable dishcloths, as felt that cloth had been used by previous occupants. Breakfast provisions much appreciated.
Lounge area not very cosy - sofa not particularly comfortable.
Very close to the other cottage so didn't feel very private.
Awoken in the early hours on our second night by dustbins being emptied.
Would have no hesitation in recommending these lovely cottages.

Room Tip: Don't think there will be much to choose between the two cottages.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catwoman06897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews