We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Wellington
Open today: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Rover Rings
from $71.19
More Info
from $145.62
More Info
Reviews (404)
Filter reviews
404 results
Traveler rating
323
58
13
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
323
58
13
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews filming locations half day tour weta workshop wings tour guide awesome tour an excellent guide rivendell lotr films knowledge buff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 404 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2020 via mobile

Enjoyed our tour. My wife not a great fan of the movies but she still enjoyed the tour. Would have liked to take photos with some of the props in Weta.

Thank Noel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rover-Rings, Manager at Rover Rings, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the review. We find that even those who have not seen LOTR still enjoy our tours as we not only see film locations, but beautiful parks, rivers and rainforests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020 via mobile

Fantastic tour. We thought about driving to each place ourselves but Jack’s geek lore was outstanding and there are places we would never have known we were standing on unless pointed out. Weta workshops tour is amazing, sadly less time that I would have liked as we were literally escorted out, but thats no fault of this tour.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank AdvanceOp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rover-Rings, Manager at Rover Rings, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the great review. We think our tour is the best way to see as many filming locations in one day as possible (we may be a little biased however so thank you for your confirmation! ;-) . I will pass along your compliments to Jack.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2020

You will love this tour if you are a fan of the Lord of the Rings movies! Seeing the locations filmed around Wellington and, of course, Weta Studios make it clear how much effort and genius went into the movies!

Our tour guide was Axl, who was a very fun, cool guy that was as big a fan of the movies as we were! The best tour guides are ones where at the end of the day you know a lot about the tour, but also feel you’ve spent a day with a friend. Axl was just that. He’s known as Samwise the Tour Guide, and I can see that. But, I like a bit more in common with Radagast. Behind a funny, unassuming exterior, there is a lot more creativity and power than meets the eye.

Lunch was great, too! It was served family-style and in a lovely setting!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank GaelTider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rover-Rings, Manager at Rover Rings, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the great feedback, I will pass this along to 'Samwise' Like all good hobbits we think lunch is pretty important so we're please to hear you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2020 via mobile

This tour was really well done and informative. If you’re a fan of the films and want more inside details of how the film was made I highly recommend it. Our guide Samwise was knowledgeable and funny.

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank alexbS6754YU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rover-Rings, Manager at Rover Rings, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the great feedback. Samwise will be pleased and I will pass along you review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020 via mobile

Weta experience is amazing, just a pity you cannot take pics in there due to copyright. Views from mt. Victoria superb. Guide great, even dropped my cap off that I had left on the bus. What can't be helped and you have to rely on pics and imagination because unlike hobbiton the set is no longer there

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Colwalcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rover-Rings, Manager at Rover Rings, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the review. Just to clarify, you are able to take pictures in the Weta shop and museum, but you're right, no photos allowed in the tour space, we think that makes it even more special to visit! The locations are just the locations, there are no sets remaining from the filming but we still think they are still pretty magical.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews