We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and tidy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel Wellington
Ranked #15 of 46 Wellington B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here for one night and found the place to be very comfotable and the hosts very friendly. It is located near the CBD but a bit to far to walk. The lookout for the city is well worth the tight drive and the free wifi included with the room was very handy for checking emails and banking.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 88 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

Fulfilled all of our requirements - clean, comfortable, tidy, and close to CBD but not walking distance. Wifi included in the room fee - enough for checking email. Nice drive from motel to city along Oriental Bay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We arrived late afternoon after ferry ride from Picton. We were greeted with an extremely friendly and accommodating manager, Richard, such was his kindness he offered to drive us into the centre for evening meal rather than taking a taxi, so so kind.

We also had options of Rooms upstairs or downstairs, chose latter as we had heavy bags. Don't be fooled by location, I.e. out of city centre. yes it is by 5 min drive, but we stayed local, found some great shops in Kilbirnie and a fabulous restaurant 2 min walk from Bella Vista, called Soi.

Fab supermarket 2 min drive away too, so there is no reason not to come here.....it's beautiful, right on marina and you're not missing out on a thing, just benefitting from being in such a fantastic and comfortable, high quality accommodation. Would recommend to everyone, just come and see!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davski69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This motel is in a lovely waterfront location - although no view of the waterfront from the motel. But its just a minutes walk to restaurant and cafe and lovely waterfront park. The owners are extremely helpful and happy to out of their way to make the stay enjoyable. The only downside of this motel is the jet planes that go overhead at 6am in the morning - every morning. But the beds are comfortable. Cleaners probably need to clean under the beds as I found rubbish under there when I arrived. But everything else was clean and tidy. Good showers. Very convenient to airport, kilburnie swimming pool, ASB sports stadium, and supermarkets nearby

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzp0ppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

If you are visiting Wellington with a car at your disposal this motel is just a lovely drive around Oriental Bay from the city. We had two units for family of four. They are compact and older, but clean. Could have done with some shampoo in the bathroom as left ours at home but that is a minor complaint. Host friendly and helpful. Good car parking. A little perturbed that cleaners had left our unit unlocked but made the host aware of this. Certainly not mid city location but this wasnt a problem to us as the Wellington harbour is spectacular and never tired of the drive round the bay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WetaRotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed just one night in a kitchen studio unit and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this motel if the location suits your requirements. It wouldn't suit those want to be right in the centre of the city as it is a car/bus or taxi ride away (or long walk). We needed to be handy to the Kilbirnie Aquatic Centre and had no car so it suited us perfectly. It was a pleasant 20 min walk along the waterfront footpath or a 5 min bus ride. The owner even offered to drive us if we didn't want to walk which I thought was very kind.

Our unit was very functional and had a well equipped kitchenette. It was extremely clean, well maintained and the bed quite comfy. However, there were none of the usual toiletries provided apart from a soap dispenser for the bathroom basin and in the shower. I found this odd for a motel of this standard?

We would be happy to stay again.





Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank nzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

It is a lovely place to stay. The hosts are great, as is the location. The place has been here for a number of years mow, but you wouldn't know it as the hosts obviously do a high level of maintenance. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RidgwayPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
2.2 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#14 of 47 in Wellington
2,262 reviews
1.4 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 47 in Wellington
798 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#15 of 47 in Wellington
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Wellington

Address: 302-304 Evans Bay Parade | Greta Point, Wellington 6021, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range: $99 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to the Bella Vista Wellington. This property has been independently assessed by Qualmark as 4 star quality accommodation. Wellington is New Zealand's capital and the perfect base for your adventures. From the moment you arrive you'll enjoy the convenience of being located in close proximity to the Wellington CBD for business, shops, entertainment and other activities. At Bella Vista Wellington we cater for all your business or recreational needs. We are easy to find on Evans Bay, just minutes from Wellington Airport. Also just minutes by car, the Wellington waterfront is full of restaurants, cafes, shops, galleries and, most famously Te Papa, the Museum of New Zealand. The city also hosts various performing arts, festivals, international and national sporting events and conferences. We have ample safe parking so you can leave your car and avoid parking issues, walk to work or explore. Our superior smoke free accommodation includes a variety of studios and one bedroom units. The purpose built access units have been designed with parking at the door for your convenience. You have a choice of king, queen or single beds with electric blankets for those cooler nights. Wireless internet is available with a spacious work desk in every room. Units vary from just tea and toast making facilities to those with cooking facilities. We offer continental breakfasts and evening meals charge back facilities, dine in or dine out. You can be assured of a warm welcome at reception where we will assist you in every way possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing