We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't believe we didnt find it sooner ...”
Review of Ortega Fish Shack

Ortega Fish Shack
Ranked #2 of 938 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fresh NZ Seafood
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I can't believe we didnt find it sooner ...”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

What a lovely meal we had there on Friday night, the seafood was superb, and they even had a lovely beef fillet for those not into seafood. The service was excellent, and the dessert of chocolate mousse was devine. A big thank you to Davey, who we had met from previous restaurants, and the team, for the great services. Davey it was great catching up with you again and we look forward to coming back to your restaurant soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    798
    159
    48
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very, very good”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Ortega Fish Stack is very well located near Courtney Place. has an extensive food matched beer and wine list..The entrées range is brilliant, the fish main course speciality dishes are fantastic and they do the best beef eye fillet in Wellington. The desserts are fine but a menu change saw us head over for the road for the Key Lime Pie at Sweet Mothers Kitchen.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Silverfoxr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Our new favourite...”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

What a great find this place is. We dined here last night and everything was fantastic. The service is impeccable. All staff are professional friendly and knowledgeable.
The food was Very Delicious. I definitely recommend the oysters with the gin and tonic granita - perfect! (the battered oysters - also amazing). Between us our group had steak, salmon and the tarakihi. All cooked to perfection, lovely flavours and nicely presented. We all had the mousse for dessert - superb!
The extensive wine list featured some of our favourite wines - another great plus!

Thank you Davey and your team for your hospitality. We will see you again soon

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank annieandnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Returned to Ortega after an absence of a couple of years. The food herd is fantastic and the whole experience is the perfect combination of silver service and relaxed chic. The oysters are stunning and worth the money and tuna sashimi was a knockout. Everyone in our group thoroughly enjoyed their mains. A great wine list too. Make sure you book as this is a very popular spot!

Helpful?
Thank jjswlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Wonderful seafood”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful family dinner at Ortega. Excellent NZ seafood, interesting wine list with various price points and warm and informative service. This is a fabulous place with cooking of a very high standard.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ortega Fish Shack also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Ortega Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing