We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss this restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ortega Fish Shack

Ortega Fish Shack
Ranked #2 of 904 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Fresh NZ Seafood
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Don't miss this restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

We went here because of trip advisor reviews. We were totally impressed by the service and food. Service first, although no reservation, nb make reservation, we got a table for 2. The staff were fantastically polite, cheerful, just chatty enough without being ott. We tried a wine we hadn't had before, a Verdelho from Esk valley which was great. The food was top class. We tried all the oysters for starters, and snapper for main. Cheeses with glass of house merlot was a lovely way to finish. Chef creates dishes with fantastic flavours. Recommend- without doubt YES

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank stevesmith10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    745
    150
    44
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Lovely place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

I came here a couple of months ago and really enjoyed the more casual style of dining. The service was really friendly and the flavours are good. I had the fish with squid ink risotto, crepes and of course oysters. They do lovely wine matches here. Struggled a little with the noise however it's great to see it busy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excellent food but service not up to same standard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Booked meal for family celebration. Very friendly reception shown upstarirs. Thursday night maybe is regarded as less busy but waitress and waiter often not visible upstairs. No drinks order taken on arrival only one drinks menu. Drinks and rest of meal slow. Different waiters/waitresses came during evening. Staff seemed only moderately knowledgeable about drinks. First courses excellent all great combinations of sometimes unusually matched ingredients, well presented and reasonable quantities. For example a combination of Braised Pork belly with a salad of scallop, mango & mandarin, ginger wine dressing; prawn tails with delicious pasta; Duck liver pate with apricot & ginger chutney; tuna sashimi, togarachi & tamari lime dressing; Main courses probably not quite as successful- Gruyere Souffle, Roquefort cream, salad of rocket, walnut, pear& pickled cherries rather bland although beautifully light, tarakihi, malaysian coconut gravy, prawn, lime & corrinader salad came in a soupy sauce ( although served with a spoon). Delicious brocolli with a blue cheese sauce and perfect fine french fries. Wine list fairly good although lacking perhaps fine wines in the still affordable range of 90-150 dollars- seemed to go from 50 ish to 500+! delicious desserts like catalan crepes with orange caramel sauce and vanilla ice cream, and a perfect a perfect pannacotta beautifully presented. sweet wines were ordered but took so long to come we gave up and decided to have coffee at home as it was getting so late

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thorstenvilliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Ortega Fish Shack is just amazing and a real must for fish dish lovers! The menu offers a good range of entrees, mains and desserts. The wine/ beer list is amazing. Our meals were perfectly prepared and nicely presented. The wait staff were lovely, throwing in two complimentary small glasses of dessert wines with our desserts. The "shack" is set in a old wooden house, very quaint, however, it can be a bit noisy and perhaps the hosts might turn down the music just a tad given that, the night we were there, there was a large boisterous table next us, making the sound levels quite difficult. Overall, an amazing night, amazing meal in a beautiful setting. Well done Ortega Fish Shack and thanks to Trip Advisor for pointing out of towners in the direction of this beautiful place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 51KarenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Ortega Fish Shack was recommended on Tripadvisor and I had one free night in Wellington. It was wonderful. Great location, fabulous food and just really good vibe. The broccoli side w toasted almonds and blue cheese was divine. Excellent wine list, just a real treat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tootsierollny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ortega Fish Shack also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Ortega Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing