We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ortega Fish Shack

Ortega Fish Shack
Ranked #2 of 911 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Fresh NZ Seafood
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Everything about this place was great....the food, the atmosphere, the staff. We had three course meal are were not disappointed. The staff could not do enough for us. There was no pressure to rush at all, and we were able to enjoy lovely evening here. Easy to get to as walking distance from centre of town. The staff were knowledgeable on all the food and wine. We had the fish which you would expect to be fantastic considering it is a seafood restaurant, but we also had the steak which has got to be the best red meat I have had in a long time. So perfectly cooked. Would totally recommend this for night out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liv B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    754
    151
    44
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jinan, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing seafood, perfect service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Being classical meat-eaters, we had to persuade ourselves to go for seafood - and were rewarded with an amazing dinner. Every detail was just perfectly right, from an amazingly professional, friendly and knowledgeable waitress to the food.... well, the food... We just didn't know that fish can be this good. It is expensive, yes, but worth every last penny. Thanks so much for this experience!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JuliaRa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
497 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Great little shack”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Everything about this place is wonderful. The atmosphere is laid back and funky, the staff are brilliant, and the food is perfect. I started with a kipper salad, as I had never had kippers before, and loved it. The groper I had for my main was so nice I wanted to go back again and have it the next night. We were a party of 8, and it was no problem for them to look after our increasingly bizarre requests for cocktails etc. Well done once again to the Ortega Fish Shack!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiTraveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I'd heard about this restaurant, but it was my first time here. It was packed, so just as well we'd booked. Considering how busy they were, the service was excellent. They were also knowledgeable on the dishes and the wine. The seafood was just gorgeous, as was the dessert. I would definitely revisit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelqueen532013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had a fabulous Wellington on a Plate dinner here. The food was absolutely, lick your plate delicious. The service was friendly and good. This remains one of my favourite restaurants in Wellington.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ortega Fish Shack also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Ortega Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing