We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little shack” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ortega Fish Shack

Ortega Fish Shack
Ranked #2 of 904 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Fresh NZ Seafood
Auckland
Level Contributor
497 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Great little shack”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Everything about this place is wonderful. The atmosphere is laid back and funky, the staff are brilliant, and the food is perfect. I started with a kipper salad, as I had never had kippers before, and loved it. The groper I had for my main was so nice I wanted to go back again and have it the next night. We were a party of 8, and it was no problem for them to look after our increasingly bizarre requests for cocktails etc. Well done once again to the Ortega Fish Shack!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiTraveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    745
    150
    44
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I'd heard about this restaurant, but it was my first time here. It was packed, so just as well we'd booked. Considering how busy they were, the service was excellent. They were also knowledgeable on the dishes and the wine. The seafood was just gorgeous, as was the dessert. I would definitely revisit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelqueen532013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had a fabulous Wellington on a Plate dinner here. The food was absolutely, lick your plate delicious. The service was friendly and good. This remains one of my favourite restaurants in Wellington.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolute best fish shack”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The atmosphere is funky and casual but they serve faultless food fabulous wine with the friendliest but most immaculate service I have ever experienced. i forgot my glasses and was having trouble reading the menu - our waitress brought out a selection of reading glasses! Last visited in whitebait season the fritters were divine. Not cheap but for a treat we don't go past it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“These people know their seafood !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

If you love your seafood then this is the place for you. For those that like the finer things in life and not just your basic fish and chips then make a booking at Ortega. Squid Ink Risotto - no need to say anymore. Great atmsophere, excellent food and friendly service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thegolfnutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ortega Fish Shack also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Ortega Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing