We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view and hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oriental Bay Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 45 Wellington B&B and Inns
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful view and hosts”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights with another couple all in our 60s. Wellington is built on hills and this B&B is in the most expensive part of Wellington. The view from the eating area was superb. Bev and Warren were very good hosts. You feel like you are with friends. The rooms were beautifully decorated as Bev has an eye for decorating. They have a zebra skin in their living room. Bev cooked a wonderful breakfast and Warren kept us amused with all his tales. The only drawback is getting up with a car and we had a van. There was adequate parking for us even with the van. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Bev and Warren are amazing hosts. They know the city inside and out including most of the people who live there. This couple is gracious, funny and have a very relaxed attitude while running a beautiful home catering to your needs. The views from the dining room are phenomenal. What a perfect place to have breakfast served to you by Bev. Great location, comfortable room, good food...what more do you want?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debsnotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnevon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Great stay n tasty cooked breakfast. Wonderful hosts. thanks Bev n Warren for your lovely welcome n alwaya ensuring their guests are always well taken of.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Following a long journey from Lake Taupo to Wellington, short journey to Oriental Bay and a short climb to a wonderful location.The welcome was warm and cheerful but the building and location surpassed all expectation. To call this a 'bed and breakfast' is to describe Champagne - a fizzy drink. Our hosts (Beverley and Warren) are rightly proud of this wonderful home with extended accomodation for 2 guest groups. The room was luxurious and beautifully decorated, every thought had been put into making our stay so relaxing and warm.
You are treated better than guests and much more like family friends. The best is yet to come as you are made welcome at the breakfast table together with outher guests and their family. Relaxing and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble and the breakfast is substantial and as good as it gets.
The views from every panorama window are breathtaking, looking out over Wellington harbour. We were taken to the morning ferry as if it was always part of the service.
We would like to return soon and this is definitely on our top places to return. Thank you Beverley and Warren, you have such a wonderful family and a beautiful home.
We will keep such memories until our return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Taurus42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2010

The correct address is 18A Hay Street, and, yes, there is a home nearby with only 18 Hay on it! But you will recognize this terrific B&B by its unique, large arched window facing the bay. Totally worth the steep, narrow drive to their garage, the walk back to Wellington is easy and quick. Owners Bev and Warren Charlton are gracious and fun-loving. He, the architect of this home, and she, the interior decorator, have created a masterpiece and you get to stay in it! Our room, the Versace, included a chandelier over the bed, a well-stocked kitchenette and an Italian bathroom with heated floor, plus a romantic surprise just outside your window! Breakfast was sumptuous and available in our room whenever we wanted it. Bev even washed our laundry while we breezed through windy Wellington. Get Warren to tell you about some "Avatar" staff staying with them during the filming of the movie!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bmac-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,603 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
669 reviews
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.7 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
747 reviews
1.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Bay Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Bay Bed & Breakfast

Property: Oriental Bay Bed & Breakfast
Address: 18A Hay Street | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, location. Prime location to the City.Warren and Bev welcome you to enjoy their Architecturally Designed modern home in Oriental Bay, Wellington's city beach, located only a short stroll to all major activities and City centre.No need to drive around the city as everything is so close and we have free off street parking.Exquisite views of the City Beach and Buildings around the Port and one of the world's most picturesque Harbours.Enjoy breakfast watching Tug boats and Ships moving around the Port before strolling 10 minutes into the City where you will find Te Papa Museum, Theatres, Cafes, Shopping, Cable Car to the Botanical gardens.Our prime location is only 10mins drive to the Airport.Ferries and Railway StationPick up from the these terminals is available by arrangement.Both B&B Studio Rooms are self contained with Ensuite (heated tile floors) and Kitchenette(Fridge and Mirowave) so you can self cater, or come upstairs to the Dining room for a fully cooked Breakfast or an extensive Continental.A warm welcome from us is assured. A home and hospitality to remember. Credit cards accepted ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing