We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm soup with a smile”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Verve Cafe

Verve Cafe
Ranked #318 of 911 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Canberra
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Warm soup with a smile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

A lovely intimate cafe with great food and nice coffee. Prices are reasonable with a great specials board. I enjoyed a lovely homemade soup with warm bread.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pachkilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    26
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level Contributor
125 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Drop in for a coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Fund Verve while wandering --waiting for wives!! lvely Scons and a good coffee. Shoe shop next door provides a distraction for any females in the party !!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank seaoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fast and tasty breakfasts, friendly and efficient staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

After one day of inflated breakfast prices at our hotel, Verve became our breakfast venue of choice for the remainder of our stay in Wellington. The counter and wait staff were friendly, efficient and polite. The meals were hearty, well-cooked and nicely presented. The groovy but unobtrusive background music was a bonus.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Average cafe,staff ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Had breakfast here, found it a bit pricey, coffee average nothing to rave about. Staff seemed more interested in talking about what they did in the weekend than customer service.I think its in good location from our hotel however the price of things I would of been just as easy to eat at the hotel.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davidchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Brunch on the go.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

TripAdvisor guided us to Verve Cafe for brunch and coffee. The reviewers have been good to this place and for good reason - it is rather good at what it does. Good quality food, good quality coffee and very good service.

There is a good ambience to the place, nestled in an arcade off the main street. You can dine near the front and be in the busy section, or hide away near the back of the cafe and not be interrupted.

I had a trusty eggs benedict (with bacon) on this visit and they were very good. I can't really fault it. Eggs benedict is a favourite of mine and I use it to judge cafe against cafe. On this occasion, the bacon was very flavourful and there was plenty of it. The coffee was made from the local Supreme brand of roasted beans, which is pretty good.

This is a really nice spot for It seemed to be a popular place for some of the locals to hold off-site work meetings, so you may wish to choose your table carefully.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrChur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verve Cafe also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Verve Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing