We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and quick service”
Review of Roti Chenai

Roti Chenai
Ranked #312 of 938 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good food and quick service”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Very tasty and appealing South Indian style food. We were lucky to be able to just walk in and get a table with no booking on a Friday night. The place gets very busy. Our meals came very quickly. The dosai is a new experience for someone used to eating at a restaurant only with a knife and fork (you have to use fingers to break off pieces and scoop up sauces and curry), but it was very tasty. Prices are reasonable. I am sure we will go there again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marshall C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    29
    20
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
407 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Nice Authentic food”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

the food is great at a fair price. They are celebrating 20years so must be doing something right in the fickle restaurant trade.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“One of our favourite Indian restaurants in Wellington”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

In fact, this seems to be the only Indian restaurant we go to in Wellington. :-) It is always nice to see the friendly faces of Richard and Mutu, and taste their nan, dhal and chicken sukka. Great food, excellent service and nice enough surroundings. SUGGESTION TO ROTI CHENAI: Provide finger bowls and encourage patrons to try the authentic "eating with fingers" experience. ;-)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SukiHarding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Little known gem”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I come here often because you don't need to book and it is never that busy.
Last night was really good! The waiter remembered orders for our table of seven which was impressive, we all got a range of dishes; vege chilli masala was delicious, it is BYO so we could take along some nice wine than what they have on offer.

I recommend coming here, it's great, cheap, fat service and delicious food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vegeskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would just say okieee!!!!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

my first experience n i wud say jus oki coz i really felt curry ws just bland, We ordered 2 different curries i.e chicken and lamb and the only thing which differentiated both of them was pieces of chicken and lamb on the gravy as both the gravy tasted same, service ws pretty average, roti is gud and the coffee is d best and its the only reason i hve given dem 3* as dey jus gve a proper south indian coffee which is pretty much different frem machine ones.That ws real good!!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roti Chenai also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Roti Chenai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing