We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great restaurant in downtown Wellington” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osteria del Toro

Osteria del Toro
Ranked #144 of 904 Restaurants in Wellington
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Wellington restaurant, Osteria del Toro offers a culinary snapshot of the Mediterranean’s wonderful cuisine in setting so inspired by the region you’ll feel as though you’ve been transported there.Osteria del Toro is open for lunch Sunday to Friday and dinner Monday to Saturday with a range of dishes and menu options suitable for families, large groups and intimate dining experiences.Every week is filled with events, such as 2 for 1 Pizzas on weekday lunchtimes; Paella Monday, where guests the join Chef as he demonstrates the art behind this classic Spanish dish; and La Famiglia, our popular banquet style Sunday lunch.Our wine list showcases the best of the Mediterranean with a few New Zealand favourites thrown in for good measure. Feel like a cocktail or a refreshing glass of vino before going to a show or heading home? Just pull up to the bar and let our professional bar team find the perfect drink for you. Our extensive cocktail list means you definitely won't go home thirsty - OPA! Ask for our tapas menu if you are a bit peckish.Come dine with us, and enjoy the best of the Mediterranean in the heart of the CapitalOur private function room, The Campari Room, has recently been renovated and is the perfect space for your special occasion. The large dining table caters for up to 24 guests and our set menus offer great value and selection. Perfect for birthday dinners, small weddings, group bookings & office functions.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in downtown Wellington”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Visited Osteria del Toro on a Monday night and was delighted to find it was paella night - the Paella was wonderful, flavours and portions were amazing. Great restaurant, decor, service. Couldn't fault it. Will definitely return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    96
    37
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Awesome food, beautiful venue, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

A gorgeous setting for truly great Mediterranean food. The lamb skewers were so tender and juicy the meat literally melted in your mouth. The pizza was awesome, same as the Tagine. Everything first rate, obviously made from premium ingredients. The staff was very helpful and extremely friendly. Great wine selection -wonderful Rioja, which was served at the absolute perfect temperature. We'll most definitely be back and be sure to send all our friends when they visit. The Osteria del Toro is one of the capital's gems.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deeeedoooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food but mean portions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

I love going to this restaurant. The food is great the sangria and pizza's exceptional and the food generally reasonably priced. But in spite of the $27 price tag for mains the portions sizes are just plain mean. Suggest you increase your prices, $35-$38 is the norm for mains in most of Wellington anyhow.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rackjabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

As a birthday dinner, I couldn't have been more happy with our choice! What an incredible place! With the open kitchen and fantastic atmosphere, they were off to a good start. Great menu, diverse and interesting. A great themed drinks list, wonderful cocktails and sangria's. We were very happy with our evening, resulting in a tip for the staff. Will be back next time we are in Wellington!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexJCoupland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
87 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great, but some portions quite small”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Dined with a large group, all of the food was excellent, but some of the portions were a lot smaller than others. TIP: Get the goat or beef to share, very large portions.

Great alcohol selection, with interesting cocktails. Really nice atmosphere, friendly staff.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jono L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria del Toro also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Osteria del Toro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing