We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not quite what we expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of A Great View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Great View
Ranked #18 of 48 Wellington B&B and Inns
Vista, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not quite what we expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Bettina and Nev were wonderful hosts. However, this is truly their home. We were unaware we were going to have to share a bath-we booked through Agoda and it did not reveal that there was a shared bath. This is Bettina and Nev's home, so the shared lounge is really their living room. And, Bettina had recently acquired a darling cat, but 3 of the 4 of us are allergic to cats-we would have appreciated knowing before hand. The establishment was clean, the beds comfortable, and the breakfast was nice. Thanks to Bettina and Nev for their hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BettinaJefferys, Owner at A Great View, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you liked our breakfast and the comfortness of the beds. We are sorry that we could not meet all your expectations. It is clearly stated on the Agoda website under rooms description that the 2 rooms have a shared bathroom. Also stated is the shared TV lounge. Under hotel policies you will find a note that we do accept pets, which should lead to the conclusion that we might have a pet too. Kind regards, Bettina and Neville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
16
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

From the minute we arrived at A Great View we were made to feel very much at home. Was more like visiting with old friends - Nev and my husband were sharing a beer and Bettina and I chatting over a cuppa.
As their website states this is very much a homestay B&B - you are staying in their home and sharing the living areas. We had our own bathroom but all bedrooms were on the same floor - we were expecting this so it was not a problem at all but some B&B stayers expect 'separate' quarters so should be aware of this.
The view from our bedroom certainly was fantastic - uninterrupted across Wellington to the harbour. We had a car so getting to and from was easy - about 15 minutes drive into the CBD.
The beds were really comfortable and Nev does a mean scrambled eggs for breakfast!
We really enjoyed our stay with Nev and Bettina and it was a perfect end to our NZ holiday.
Marco, their little black kitten/lap warmer was a firm favourite with our daugher!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BettinaJefferys, Manager at A Great View, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Andrea, thank you so much for your kind review. We really enjoyed your company very much and hope to see you again one day, either in New Zealand or if we can make it to Alice Springs. It was great to have you at our B&B and that we could spend three nice evenings together. Bettina and Neville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Literally. When I booked the B&b a couple of weeks back I had no idea, how nice the stay would turn out to be. We booked to arrive the day before Christmas eve and left boxing day. The only not so nice thing was the weather, but neither Bettina nor Nevile could have done something against that. Before we even arrived, Bettina had invited us to spend Christmas Eve with them and friends (we are Germans and celebrate Christmas Eve rather then Christmas Day), which immediately gave us a welcoming feeling. The rooms and bathroom we had were beautiful and clean, breakfast left nothing to be desired and plenty. Bettina and Neville are an interesting and entertaining couple with lots of knowlegde about a variety of things. Neville cooked us a wonderful seafood dinner the night we arrived (have to book that in advance) and the Christmas Eve Turkey made us go for more. On Christmas day, Neville even drove us to a wonderful lookout point, that we never would have found on our own and then dropped us off at the hotel for our pre booked Christmas day dinner. We will certainly come back, should we come and visit NZ again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowyChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BettinaJefferys, Owner at A Great View, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Uschi and Frank, thank you so much for your kind review. We really enjoyed your company and it was especially nice to have you staying with us over christmas. We hope to see you again one day, either in New Zealand or in China. Please keep in touch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Neville and Bettina are excellent hosts and offer a warm, friendly welcome to their delightful home which does indeed have a great view. Modern room with excellent en suite, excellent sleep in very quiet surroundings. Situated out of the city but very easy to get into - we drove 5 minutes to a local train station, parked up for free and were in the centre of Wellington 20 minutes later. There is an excellent walk which offers exceptional views of the city in close proximity to the residence, if you're a keen photographer don't miss it, it provides a stunning location for sunset.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ethiad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BettinaJefferys, Owner at A Great View, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. We really enjoyed your company and hope to see you again one day. We think you have to come back to NZ to get more photos of this beautiful country. Bettina and Neville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Despite the wind and fog which pretty much eliminated the great view, the hosts were both delightful and very gracious. They went the extra yard for us by helping us arrange a visit with a local hospital so we could get an allergy injection. Their assistance mad our visit in Wellington very enjoyable despite the weather.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekanaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BettinaJefferys, Owner at A Great View, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We really enjoyed your company very much. We hope to see you again, either in New Zealand or if we can make it to Florida one day. Bettina and Neville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Bettina and Neville are now fixed in the firmament of our friends. From the first moment of our arrival we were entranced by their warmth and conviviality. Neville's fish dinner was matched by our duck ragu and it was such a pleasure to feel that we could cook our food in their wonderful kitchen. We will be staying there for the third time in the near future and are looking forward to the experience. If you like the culture of Europe then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlakeBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BettinaJefferys, Owner at A Great View, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Ken and David, thank you for your kind review. We really enjoyed your company very much and you would be more than welcome to stay again in our B&B. We hope to see you soon!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luneburg, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Thxs a lot Bettina & Nev for the wonderful stay at your nice place.
We had beautiful weather and the service was excellent!
Wellington is an amazing city and the B&B a great place to stay.
My husband and I we stayed three nights in Wellington and had a wonderful time.
The accommodation is beautiful and Bettina and Neville are wonderful hosts.
We want to come back!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0VE_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BettinaJefferys, Owner at A Great View, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Sabine and Matthias, we have had a wonderful time with you. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
4.0 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#2 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
3.6 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Wellington
BEST WESTERN Wellington
#23 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
5.2 mi away
Edgewater Lodge
Edgewater Lodge
#3 of 48 in Wellington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Great View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Great View

Property: A Great View
Address: 36 Jaunpur Crescent | Broadmeadows, Wellington 6035, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A Great View 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bettina and Neville's B&B/Homestay offers you spectacular views from Seaview, Eastbourne to Wellington Harbour incl. Somes Island. Enjoy the views from our deck or relax in our sunny garden. Having travelled the world, Bettina and Neville enjoy the company of all nationalities, so come make yourself at home at "A Great View." 10 min drive to CBD, ferry, 20 min to airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your A Great View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing