We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Penno vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Great View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Great View
Ranked #19 of 54 Wellington B&B and Inns
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Penno vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Despite the wind and fog which pretty much eliminated the great view, the hosts were both delightful and very gracious. They went the extra yard for us by helping us arrange a visit with a local hospital so we could get an allergy injection. Their assistance mad our visit in Wellington very enjoyable despite the weather.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ekanaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BettinaJefferys, Owner at A Great View, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We really enjoyed your company very much. We hope to see you again, either in New Zealand or if we can make it to Florida one day. Bettina and Neville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
16
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Bettina and Neville are now fixed in the firmament of our friends. From the first moment of our arrival we were entranced by their warmth and conviviality. Neville's fish dinner was matched by our duck ragu and it was such a pleasure to feel that we could cook our food in their wonderful kitchen. We will be staying there for the third time in the near future and are looking forward to the experience. If you like the culture of Europe then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlakeBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BettinaJefferys, Owner at A Great View, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Ken and David, thank you for your kind review. We really enjoyed your company very much and you would be more than welcome to stay again in our B&B. We hope to see you soon!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luneburg, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Thxs a lot Bettina & Nev for the wonderful stay at your nice place.
We had beautiful weather and the service was excellent!
Wellington is an amazing city and the B&B a great place to stay.
My husband and I we stayed three nights in Wellington and had a wonderful time.
The accommodation is beautiful and Bettina and Neville are wonderful hosts.
We want to come back!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L0VE_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BettinaJefferys, Owner at A Great View, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Sabine and Matthias, we have had a wonderful time with you. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our stay in August with Neville and Bettina very very much. Picked up from the airport, superb home dining, very interesting conversation with our world traveled hosts. Nothing was a problem for them, much information about things to see and do around Wellington. Absolutely fabulous location with sea views extraordinaire. Would recommend to others for certain, and would envisage staying there again. Was just like being with family. Thank you for your hospitality.
Pete and Vanessa

Room Tip: Ask for the Sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

My family and I stayed with Neville and Bettina in July 2012 and enjoyed our stay in their home.

Right at the outset they made us feel very welcome and made it very clear their home is our home. Everything was lovely and clean.

Our stay in Wellington was for 2 nights and it was a wonderful way to end our 3 week holiday in their home.

I have no hesitation in staying here again if we return to NZ for a 5th time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winship51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

In June we spent 3 days at "A Great View" and had just an amazing time. Bettia and Neville are wonderful hosts. Nothing is too much for them, they are helpful in every way. We love the cosy ambience of the house, every room is beutiful decorated with a mix of modern and antique furniture. The excellent breakfast buffet provided lots of variety to choose from. The views are spectular, we have sunshine and fresh Wellington air all day long. When we arrived Neville and Bettina shared with us a welcome drink and interesting conversation. One evening Neville cooked us a supreme sea food dinner and we spent a nice evening together.
We are truly sorry to leave this beautiful B&B to travel to our next destination. When we come back to Wellington we will definitely stay again at "A Great View".

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

In May 2012 we stayed for 3 days at A Great View BnB which indeed provides the most amazing views of Wellington from nearly all rooms. The room we stayed in was inviting very clean and cosy with a mix of antique and moden. The beds were very comfortable the bathroom is spacious. Bettina And Nev are wonderful Hosts they prepared a fantastic breakfast which we were able to choose a variety of food.The area of the location is very quiet and we had a great sleep.Bettina and Nev are very helpful with recommending good restaurants.
when we arrived we had a drink with them and enjoyed an interesting conversation. When we come back to wellington we would love to stay again with them in this charming BnB.
Thanks Nev and Bettina for making our stay one to remember and please keep intouch
John and Sue

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
4.1 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
3.6 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
3.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
5.2 mi away
Edgewater Lodge
Edgewater Lodge
#3 of 54 in Wellington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Wellington
BEST WESTERN Wellington
#22 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Great View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Great View

Property: A Great View
Address: 36 Jaunpur Crescent | Broadmeadows, Wellington 6035, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A Great View 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bettina and Neville's B&B/Homestay offers you spectacular views from Seaview, Eastbourne to Wellington Harbour incl. Somes Island. Enjoy the views from our deck or relax in our sunny garden. Having travelled the world, Bettina and Neville enjoy the company of all nationalities, so come make yourself at home at "A Great View." 10 min drive to CBD, ferry, 20 min to airport. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing