We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for brunch”

Chocolate Dayz Cafe
Ranked #199 of 931 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place for brunch”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stopped here for brunch. An excellent menu, as well as snack food. Meal portions were very generous and service was fast. It was busy even though it was a week-day, so it must be a popular spot. The weather was simply perfect, so it was wonderful to sit outside and enjoy the great view and excellent meal. The coffee was also great.

The views are spectacular and it makes a good day out to walk along the waters edge and finish up in the Chocolate Dayz Cafe for a great meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    54
    12
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fast service, good food”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Visited for lunch on a weekday in winter and still busy; a good sign! A great all day breakfast menu, nice cabinet food and a good blackboard menu too. Despite the place being busy our meals came out very quickly, the meals were tasty and of a large size. A good relaxed beachside atmosphere, well worth the drive to Days Bay.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jscindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
479 reviews
368 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“our first visit - and we will return!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

As regular patrons at the Chocolate Fish and Chocolate Frog cafes, it has taken us long enough to make it over to Chocolate Dayz. Our first experience, and yes, it was a very good one. Great food, nice outlook, indoor and outdoor tables, prompt service, lovely cold water to drink with our meal, good coffee and plenty of parking nearby. The wholegrain toast served with our breakfasts was fantastic, the eggs cooked to perfection, the portions generous. We spent the morning walking in this lovely area, and returned to Chocolate Dayz for lunch! The scones and milkshakes also get the thumbs up from us.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
415 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great first NZ Brunch Experience”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Tucked away in Days Bay this was the perfect place to kick start my NZ trip of culinary delights. Great views, nice coffee, eggs benedict with hash browns the a cappacino to top it all of. Well worth stopping off but I think you would probably be making a trip especially to visit. I think you can continue down to Eastborne for a nice walk along the beach after.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good pasta dish”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We decided to stop for lunch at Chocolate Dayz Cafe in Eastbourne. The restaurant has a view of the ocean and Wellington. We decided to try the lunch pasta special - smoked chicken with pumpkin and parmesan creme sauce. The cost was $18. Although the white sauce was a little heavy the overall dish was tasty.
Service was quick even though the staff was busy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelguy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chocolate Dayz Cafe also viewed

Lower Hutt, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Eastbourne, Lower Hutt
 

Been to Chocolate Dayz Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing