We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Boulcott Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boulcott Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 magical nights here and location is great, only a 5 minute walk from most attractions. The suites are clean, comfortable and well equipped. I highly recommend anyone visiting Wellington to book into the Boulcott Suites. Amy from customer services is superb and we felt most welcome. Thanks for a great stay, we'll certainly see you again!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank BrendonLombard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

261 - 267 of 364 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2014

Great location in the thick of it all in Wellington. A short and easy stroll down hill to good restaurants, galleries and the heart of the city.
Main concern is that this place actually calls itself 'hotel style' and charges that way but...
three main things I found really wierd:
1. No internet, unless you pay for a stupid card with a complicated password that you have to re-enter everytime your computer goes to sleep.
2. No air conditioning. Yes Wellington is often cool and windy, but that actually makes opening a window even harder so makes no air pumped in even more difficult.
3. No room servicing. This place is actually quite expensive per night so a real surprise to find once you get in to the room you have to pay extra to actually have your 'hotel' room serviced.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KZ7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Booked via wotif.com; stayed in a Two Bedroomed townhouse; priced well for what it was.
Relatively easy to find, however nowhere to park on arrival to check-in (and located on a narrow sidestreet). Parking nearby @ $15 per day.
Two swipe cards and a room key and then directions to get to room all a little tricky for the wary traveller.
Townhouse clean, comfy and spacious - kitchen, living and dining downstairs, two bedroom and two (small) bathrooms upstairs. Stairs to get to upper lever quite steep (something to watch if traveling with children, elderly or people with mobility problems).
Only had two issues during our stay - the glassware/crockery/cutlery was pretty dirty so we had to wash everything prior to us using. Our TV was not working (problem with Sky decoder) and no one able to remedy that evening, however sorted following day.
Would happily stay here again

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CountryLass2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The property is walking distance to most of Wellington and our room was fairly well sized and modern, but in 2014 a hotel trying to attract customers should not be charging $20 per 24 hours per device for internet. We also paid $45 for a rollaway which is a bit excessive and it took them 24 hours to send a maintenance man to fix our blocked shower drain.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerbrisbane123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

A must stay if you are in Wellington! Although I lived in St George which is right next door to this accomodation, so I knew where to go around the city, the building itself is immaculate for its location.
We had a 2 bedroom suite which is clean and tidy. The bonus ensuite with having 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms was a bonus especially at such a good price! Not exactly the best view from our rooms however it's only 10-15 minutes walk. If you know Wellington like I do, you would know that the walk itself to Oriental Bay/the waterfront is a adventure in itself.
Most definitely staying here again when visiting Wellington.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

In the interest of full disclosure, I was staying at this hotel in Welly during 130km/h weather wind speeds, so it wasn't an exceptionally relaxing evening. In saying that, the room I was staying in managed to dull the bulk of the noise, and the bed was comfortable enough to counteract the weather stress.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmablahblah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stayed at the Boulcott Suites for almost 3 weeks in one of the 2 bedroom apartments on the front of the building facing the church. I travel a lot, and this was probably the best apartment I have stayed in. I enjoyed the roominess of the apartment, and the full washer and dryer along with dishwasher were nice amenities. Great location within walking distance of everything with the CBD. And, close to bus lines and a taxi stand for trips further out. All of the staff were wonderful....every request was handled promptly and efficiently. I thought the continental breakfast offered from Smith the Grocer was a good value for the money....enough for 2 days. I encountered none of the noise issues mentioned in other reviews. I applaud the fact that the apartments are non smoking, however, my only complaint was with my neighbors smoking on the balcony. I had to keep my door and windows closed to keep the smoke from coming into the apartment. That didn't happen that often, though, and doesn't detract from my overall rating. If I return to Wellington at some point, I will certainly consider staying at the Boulcott Suites again. Thank you for a nice stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.6 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#8 of 47 in Wellington
1,939 reviews
0.4 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#16 of 47 in Wellington
2,235 reviews
0.4 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 47 in Wellington
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulcott Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulcott Suites

Address: 5 O'Reily Ave, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range: $127 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Boulcott Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From studio apartments and spacious single-level suites to fully-equipped executive four-bedroom townhouses, Boulcott Suites is ideal for guests looking for quality and space. Boulcott Suites offers a range of options for groups, individuals or families. With secure undercover car parking available, large well-appointed living areas, high speed Wi-Fi access, Sky TV and a 5-star Qualmark rating, Boulcott Suites is your premier accommodation option in Wellington. The brand new North Tower provides executive and premium studio and one bedroom apartments, some with balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Boulcott Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulcott Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing