We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay but bad post stay experience”
Review of Boulcott Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boulcott Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Palmerston North
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good stay but bad post stay experience”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Very disappointed. The stay itself was fine, in fact quite good, but the treatment after was horrible. We had used a little confetti in a pass the parcel game and some got on the floor. We were then charged $160 because this apparently couldn't be sucked up their vacuum cleaner. My vacuum at home worked fine to suck it up so I have a feeling they need to buy new vacuum cleaners.... Not to mention the fact they tried to charge us even more for marking a couch which we supposedly slept on (we all slept in beds, they claimed we had sheets on the couch) only later to be told it was a different apartment and they had us mixed up. Be sure to add to the rental fee because it seems they try to look for additional charges long after you have left (took FIVE DAYS after we checked out for them to contact about this). The apartments themselves are fairly nice though...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 621H_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulcottSuites, Front Office Manager at Boulcott Suites, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, We try our best to ensure that all of our guests have a enjoyable stay and take advantage of our large accommodatons while here in Wellington, while also promoting our "no party" policy. We feel prehaps that the Boulcott Suites was not the best choice for your group on this occasion, as this was the focus of your group during your stay. We will always strive to ensure that all of our guests enjoy their stay at the Boulcot Suites, however we are not designed for parites and I apologise that this was not made clear to you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    118
    33
    13
    4
See reviews for
125
61
9
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here whilst at a conference in Wellington. Stayed in a town house which was just fantastic. Everything was clean and beautifully presented, we were very impressed. Staff were lovely and helpful and you are very central. Will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Boulcott Suites with my cousin at the end of 2012 as a treat and it was great.
The Suites are in a fabulous location (I actually live in the Wellington region so I know the city well). It is close to the best shopping spots, great restaurants and much more. The Suites are self-catering for the most part but there's lots of good options nearby. We also paid for breakfast both days and it was well worth it - yummy muesli, yoghurt, big toast and juice. Delicious!
The Suites themselves are gorgeous. We felt like we were in a luxury hotel. The place was absolutely spotless with modern amenities. Lovely kitchen, lounge, bedrooms & bathrooms. Can't fault it! We also had a gorgeous view over part of the city. It's close to Cuba Mall, Manners St, Willis St, Lambton Quay & Courtenay Place. Location, location, location!!
While it is a little pricey staying here, the facilities are fabulous and it's definitely worth the price. I hope to stay again as a treat sometime!
I didn't need to liaise with the staff much other than checking in and checking out, but they were lovely, friendly and professional.
There is a secure car park which is a little tricky to get into but it's worth it considering how hard it is to get secure parking right in the city.
Definitely recommend the Boulcott Suites to everyone :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taranakituturu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The Boulcott Suites were in a great location and although right in the city, noise was minimal. Great size for 4 people, with clean rooms. Only thing lacking which you would expect from a 5 star is free wifi and parking, we had to pay $25 a day.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 2 bedroom townhouse which was great for 2 couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Char_and_away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

The suites are roomy and comfortable and very centrally located. For an extra fee there is an adjacent car park available which is very convenient.

I realise that serviced apartments are supposed to be self contained. Boulcott Suites have a reception area, however the folks there are definitely not customer focused.

We asked for restaurant recommendations near by twice, and were told on both occasions 'we don't really know, but there are lots'. I asked for a map and was told try had run out.

Next I asked about Internet connection and was quoted $45 for I Gb per day, only to find out the next day that $45 was for one Gb period!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seamsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Good location but very poor night's sleep due to noisy parties in other suites. This is presumably a frequent occurrence as there was a note on the bed with a phone number to call if disturbed at night- not good enough. Book your car park in advance as parking is very difficult in the area- will cost $25 but worth doing. Also note no air-con in suites.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

When we arrived we got a key to the wrong apartment. Not a great start! Free wifi in lobby only. The rooms are contemporary and clean. I stayed with work colleagues- cheaper than individual hotel rooms (shrinking economies) and we had enough room for ourselves with 4BR townhouseI can see it would be great for extended families. It was noisy and I wondered if the walls were a bit thin? The afterhours swipecards didn't work efficently either. It is a good location though. Overall good for the price but if I was travelling on my own, would stay at fully serviced hotel.

Room Tip: Perhaps a quiet room with less foot traffic if noise matters to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen101Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.4 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
0.3 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulcott Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulcott Suites

Property: Boulcott Suites
Address: 5 O'Reily Ave | (just behind St. Mary's Church), Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boulcott Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring spacious single-level suites as well as fully equipped executive townhouses, Boulcott Suites is ideal for guests looking for quality and space. Boulcott Suites offers a range of options for groups, individuals or families, from a studio apartment to a four-bedroom, three bathroom townhouse over three levels with a private patio area. With fully secure undercover car parking, large well-appointed living areas, high speed Wi-Fi access, Sky TV and a 5-star Qualmark rating, Boulcott Suites is your premier accommodation option in Wellington. The brand new North Tower provides executive and premium studio and one bedroom apartments, some with balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boulcott Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulcott Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing