We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long stay - very comfortable and homey”
Review of Boulcott Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boulcott Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I have stayed here for a long time now, a month at a time with a week back in Sydney each month for over a year. I've stayed in a variety of different rooms and they've all been excellent. The layout is good, the overall facilities I found perfect for me. A full kitchen, fairly well stocked with pots, pans, dishes and the like makes it easy to cook at home when I want. Laundry facilities in the room are also very handy. Great location central to shops and nightlife. Wonderful, helpful and attentive staff. I'd heartily recommend staying here if you're in Wellington for a night, a week or a year.

Room Tip: The '01' and '03' rooms are generally a little quieter as the bedrooms are on the ba...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Earthmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
There are newer reviews for Boulcott Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

273 - 279 of 343 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed there over Labour weekend for 2 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. The location was great and fantastic having the New World Metro just around the corner in Willis St. So handy to everything. The apartment was great, and also clean. The TV kept cutting out, and they either fixed it or replaced it for the next evening. The staff were friendly. The carparking was a little tricky though. O'Reily Ave is a small street with yellow lines. When you get there you have to either park on the yellow lines to checkin or go into one of the 2 carparks on the street which are a little tricky to get into with lots of people walking down the hill (popular access) from another street and quite tight. Other than that, the apartment was good value for 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank Burmesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulcottSuites, General Manager at Boulcott Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for your review. We agree with you about the parking and have been trying hard to persuade the council to improve the situation. They are reviewing this but it is a very long an not a simple procedure unfortunately. We do have car parking in the building but we appreciate the challenges when initially checking in. We hope to have a positive response from the council in the future. Thank you for your feedback re: the apartment - Housekeeping are always keen to hear that people enjoyed their stay so I have passed the review onto them. Regarding your TV, this has now been sent off to be replaced so hopefully will not occur again. Thank you and we hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bath apartment. Very good condition. Good location. Nice supermarket right around the corner. Coffee shops and restaurants in abundance. Missing some details however. Example: big walk-in shower but nowhere to put your soap or shampoo except on the floor of the shower. A little shelf would be nice. No air conditioning except what you arrange for yourself by opening cross windows. Works but also lets in city noise and car fumes. Good value however - especially having 2 baths and also laundry facilities in the unit. We would stay here again if ever in Wellington.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank WYZDUMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulcottSuites, General Manager at Boulcott Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for your review. We have passed onto the team about the shower tray as they are placed in each shower so yours may have been in the process of being replaced. Also, in the apartments, we provide pedestal fans and heaters so that you can control the temperature yourself directly. Apologies is you has some discomfort around those - should you stay again, please let us know if you require anything additional. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you managed to taste the delights of the City. We also have chargeback facilities with local restaurants and cafes so on your next stay, you can dine out and chargeback to your room - sometimes nice to have everything on one bill. Thanks again and hope to have you stay again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Spent a long weekend in Wellington at the Boulcott Suites. Had a two bedroom apartment and got upgraded to their top suite, which had great views over Wellington city. Very child friendly, leant our four year old a bucket of toys which she loved, and the battery operated items even had batteries and worked! Place was clean and tidy, very modern. Reception staff friendly and happy to look after our bags for the afternoon. Great location as about 10 min walk from everything. Will defintely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norwatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulcottSuites, General Manager at Boulcott Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thank you so much for your review. We have worked hard to provide for families and have increased our offerings over the last year. We have toy boxes, Wii Games Console, DVD hireage, portacots, highchairs, baby gates and even a baby bath on offer. We are delighted you enjoyed you stay and that our constant check of toys made sure you were not scratching around for batteries. WE hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Great location and away from the city noises of early morning rubbish trucks, sirens and party people. We had a two bedroom apartment and surprisingly there was not a minimum stay as we were there only one night.
Decor very modern, clean and comfortable. Lots of room. Lovely clean sheets and modern bedding.
We wanted some music but there was only a CD player and no music channel so take some source of music with you if you need it.
Was a bit disappointed that our bags and bottles of wine we took were not delivered to our room as we called in at 9 am to drop our bags and wine off and arrived at our room at 5pm and had to take our bags up and the wine was in the fridge in the office. Would have been a nice touch to have had them there already.
I would certainly recommend this accomodation and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: One of the rooms looks out to a tank. Number 20 I think, so avoid this one
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulcottSuites, General Manager at Boulcott Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Where possible we always try to deliver the unexpected. We run a tight team who are dedicated to Customer Service. As we are not a hotel, we do not provide some of the extra service that porters/hotels staffing would allow. However, we take your points on board and may look at reviewing this in the future. In each room there is a combined DVD, CD and stereo player - when you stay with us again, please let us know so that we can show you the radio stations. Thank you again for your feedback - it is most appreciated and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stay here every few weeks for business and I think it is the best accommodation for value vs quality in Wellington City.

These apartments are large, well fitted out, and a great price - especially if you need 2 bedrooms or more. There is ample room for a big group to cook and eat and watch TV etc. You always have a dining room and lounge to go with plenty of bathrooms and big bedrooms

The location is good between the business district, waterfront and Courtney place...all within walking distance.

INSIDE ADVICE - just round the corner is a New World Metro - stock up there and enjoy your nice apartment.

If I had a negative, I would say they need to keep on top of the little maintenance things a bit more - ie the odd missing glass, or broken lock etc.

Room Tip: Book on wotif instead of their corporate site - it has better availability
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZ-Stuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulcottSuites, General Manager at Boulcott Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thank you so much for your feedback, tips and points for us to note. We shall forward the information onto Maintenance. Although we are always busy with keeping on top of Maintenance, with over 150 apartments in the City, it can sometimes be hard to deal to things immediately. However, we shall endeavour to improve, as always, on these matters. We are thrilled that you are a regular guest with us and that you have cleverly ascertained that we are great value for money. Some potential customers make the mistake of comparing us to hotel rooms but as our apartments are fully furnished, equipped and very spacious, it means they would not be comparing apples with apples. We appreciate your review and the effort, detail and tips. Thank you and we hope to continue to enjoy your stays with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel has everything you could want for a city stay. It is wonderfully equipped, spotlessly clean and conveniently located.
As a building it is modern and well presented, perhaps slightly soulless but the fabulous welcome from Emma on reception more than made up for it.
We stayed two nights in a room overlooking the church on the third floor and we loved making ourselves completely at home. Very comfortable beds and well appointed bathrooms. Excellent shower with loads of hot water.
There is a new World Supermarket conveniently just around the corner (first left by the General Practitioner) so you can stock up the fridge within moments of arriving.
The location suited us perfectly and it is a few minutes’ walk from the hotel entrance to great shops, restaurants and Te Papa on the waterfront.
Don’t miss a stroll down the nearby eclectic Cuba St.
Tip – If you are staying more than one night and arrive late enough you can avoid paying $25 unnecessarily for the first overnight parking in the hotel as nearby street parking is free after hours and you can then move into the hotel car park the following morning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annie2008UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulcottSuites, General Manager at Boulcott Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you so much for your excellent and detailed review. We really appreciate you having taken the time to add so much information. Naturally we shall be delighted to pass onto Housekeeping about the cleanliness of the rooms - they are very focused on providing a spotless apartment. Thank you for the tip re: parking - we do have parking on site, as you mentioned but we also do appreciate you letting people know about on street parking - which when there is space, is fantastic for guests to avail of. Perhaps next time you can treat yourself to one of our VIP suites - the view from the 8th floor is breathtaking! We hope you stay with us again and we are delighted you received such a warm welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.5 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,641 reviews
0.4 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,399 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.4 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulcott Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulcott Suites

Address: 5 O'Reily Ave, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range: $116 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Boulcott Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From studio apartments and spacious single-level suites to fully-equipped executive four-bedroom townhouses, Boulcott Suites is ideal for guests looking for quality and space. Boulcott Suites offers a range of options for groups, individuals or families. With secure undercover car parking available, large well-appointed living areas, high speed Wi-Fi access, Sky TV and a 5-star Qualmark rating, Boulcott Suites is your premier accommodation option in Wellington. The brand new North Tower provides executive and premium studio and one bedroom apartments, some with balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boulcott Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulcott Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing