We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class accomodation and service”
Review of Boulcott Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boulcott Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2011

I would highly recommend the Boulcott Suites to anyone who is visiting Wellington. What a fantastic location, right in the heart of the city. The standard of the accomodation is five star as is the service. Speaking as someone who travels frequently on business and has seenmost of what NZ and Australia has to offer, I would have no hesitation in staying here again and would rate the experience as 'up there' with the best in NZ or Australia. I very much look forward to my next trip to the Boulcott Suites, Wellington.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bhmcgrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

319 - 325 of 355 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2011

Great place to stay, we were transferred here when the other village apartment we has booked was damaged and we couldn't stay there- great 2 bedroom townhouse two bathrooms was handy for 2 couples. Really nice kitchen and lounge area downstairs and both bedrooms upstairs. Great location. Some noise with other groups next door walking to their apartment. Wooden stairs are very slippery in socks and noisy going up and down but that is the only complaint!! Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dezza-nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Arriving at midnight we had a terrible time trying to find the Boulcott Suites especially without a map.

Check-in- The reception was closed due to our arrival time however we were kindly given instructions on where to park our car & provided a pin number for the security box to obtain our townhouse keys.

Finding our townhouse was another fiasco of wheeling luggage through lifts & endless corridors. We were totally exhausted by the time we finally arrived into the apartment.

The Boulcott Suites consists of the front part of the building housing suites/ units & at the back of the building are all the townhouses which look a little like the layout of a Housing Commission complex.

Townhouse 7 – We booked a 2 bedroom townhouse which consisted of a combined lounge, dining & kitchen downstairs with a small balcony & two bedrooms and two bathrooms upstairs.

We appreciated the 2 bathrooms as hubby claimed one & I had the other while we used the 2nd bedroom for our change room.

The townhouse was comfortable but did have its faults. Mostly it was dark & we constantly had to put the lights on to read. We also found downstairs to be hot & stuffy, we eventually hunted down the air conditioning & turned it off. (Hidden way in a closet upstairs).

Location: We were hosting a conference in Willis Street & the Boulcott Suites were basically across the road from the building. The location is also brilliant for getting around by foot to almost all parts of Wellington.

Cuba Street, Blair Street & Courtney Place are all easily walkable. (Main hubs for restaurants, entertainment and nightlife) plus its just minutes to Lamberton Quay for shopping.

Overall: We originally thought the Boulcott Suites to be ordinary but after staying for five days we understood the location was hard to beat & appreciated the closeness of the Boulcott Suites to the supermarket, shops, cafes & restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ellemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Great location close to the centre of Wellington
Very spacious and well appointed apartment. Nothing lacking
Only critisism - difficult to press the up button for the lift in the reception.

Room Tip: Great location, great apartment and good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suslou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

There is no need to waste time and money with multiple units in a hotel if you have a good relationship with your traveling partners. The townhomes are 4 bedroom 3 bath with a full kitchen and dining room. You will save heaps of time an money with the great kitchens and convenient location. The staff does a good job of monitoring the guests for noise, including us, for noise to ensure that all guests get a proper nights sleep.

The security is beyond tight, to a nuisance, but I appreciated it as I had my full mobile office set up in the dinging room. There is an internet option through Surfspot, and evan as a heavy work user for 5 days I did not go through more than 2 gigs (in the US we do not seem to do a good job of gauging our data usage). I bought the 5 gigs and barely made a dent, and it is quite spendy.

I would recommend, as always, bringing an apple airport express to share internet with the full group. Staff was hit or miss. Jonathan was a dear in extending an improperly booked reservation, but others were absent on clear and simple requests.

There is a metro grocery around the corner to stock up an save some cash.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zeke4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

This place was a last-minute booking for a New Years Eve 'boys trip'. We were very surprised when we opened the door to our room... Surprised by how big, clean, and modern it was.
Downstairs, a large open-plan area had a very functional kitchen at one end, a large dinner table, a lounge area, and a large door that opened out to a patio. Upstairs (via a long staircase) were two large bedrooms, and in between them were two bathrooms.
The key thing you take away from the place is that it is very new, and very clean. The fittings are five-star, and you won't find fault with them. Everything from the clean bathroom down to the modern lounge suite, you will definitely love the facility on offer.
The location of the suites is great too.. You can walk down to Cuba St and Courteney Place, and even the supermarket is just around the corner. The rooms are protected by multiple levels of security too, so you won't have to worry about intruders.
It's true that the neighbours can be a bit noisy, but only if you have the windows and doors open (the rooms themselves are very soundproof). It was New Years, so we expected a lot of partying groups.
Only two things let it down: Firstly, the TV set is a very budget model, with absolutely terrible audio. I would have loved to connect it to the supplied stereo system, but it didn't have any audio-out features. Also the channels are set to the wrong aspect ratio (they're not digital channels) so you miss out on a lot of the picture.
But the biggest complaint is the air-conditioning: There is none. In our situation, the weather was very warm, so we encountered the experience of not being able to cool to accommodation. A floor-fan was provided, but we ended up sleeping with windows open. I imagine in winter the place would also become quite cold... In my view, installing heatpumps in the rooms would be a wise investment.
But overall, it's a great place for the high-standards travellor.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerrydp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

We stayed two nights at this apartment. The apartment unit was spacious, complete with TV, kitchen and nice bathroom. It's a shame they didn't put any TV in the bedroom, though. Location was also great. Close to Cuba Mall and Lambton Quay. There is a supermarket nearby too, so you can buy your grocery there. The tourist information is also within walking distance, and so is the cable car. We had a great time taking the cable car and walking down to the city from the botanic garden. Plenty of restaurants and eating places nearby too. A few downsides: regardless of its population, Wellington residents know how to make noise after midnight, and with a few pubs close to this apartment, noise is part of the package. A group of people sang 'When The Saints Go Marching In' at around midnight for no apparent reason, and they were very loud. Another downside is the carpark entrance which is a bit steep.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EG233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.6 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,415 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 47 in Wellington
781 reviews
0.4 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
2,224 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 47 in Wellington
1,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulcott Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulcott Suites

Address: 5 O'Reily Ave, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range: $128 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Boulcott Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From studio apartments and spacious single-level suites to fully-equipped executive four-bedroom townhouses, Boulcott Suites is ideal for guests looking for quality and space. Boulcott Suites offers a range of options for groups, individuals or families. With secure undercover car parking available, large well-appointed living areas, high speed Wi-Fi access, Sky TV and a 5-star Qualmark rating, Boulcott Suites is your premier accommodation option in Wellington. The brand new North Tower provides executive and premium studio and one bedroom apartments, some with balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boulcott Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulcott Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing