We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penthouse problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Penthouse problems”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

My three girlfriends and I stayed here a couple of weekends ago in one of the penthouse suites which was very nice except for the really smelly fridge, it looked clean but honestly the smell that came out everytime you opened the door was nasty. And the other thing was the lack of seating, the suite slept 4 people but the only seating in the place was a 1& 2 seater leather lounge suite... not even a table and chairs or bar stools for around the kitchen bench. And as we checked out we handed in our key cards at reception as you would only to realise that we needed them to exit the car parking building...alittle heads up on that one would have been nice and saved us some embarassment. All in all a nice place though, handy to town, easy to find and well priced.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony A, Manager at Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank you for your comments Keri K

Housekeeping have been through all the Penthouse fridges to ensure they are smelling fresh. I have had a word to our reception staff about checking that guests with cars have their key with them for departure.

Sounds like you had a good weekend. We are perfectly placed for Wellingtons entertainment district.

Look forward to having you with us again.
Regards
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    163
    82
    32
    11
See reviews for
63
173
18
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Huge lounge room, with separate bathroom/ bedroom. Views not great, but could see hills and cant expect too much, inner city. Rooms clean and comfortable bed. Quiet, as on 3rd floor. Maybe recently refurbished, as everything appeared new? A better room than our previous stay.

Room Tip: Get a higher level room, in case of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2014

I am currently staying at this hotel. I have barely slept as it is so noisey. I'm normally a very heavy sleeper but due to some random buzzing sound in the room and the thiness of the walls and glass I havnt slept since I arrived. The carpets are filthy, there is dirty black finger marks on the walls and door frames, and I have found a hair in the bath and on the facecloth. The room is meant to have a city view but all I see is a building. I'm very disappointed (and tired) I won't be recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NS5288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony A, Manager at Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your comments on your stay. I have followed up with our Housekeeping Department with regards to your comments. Please feel free to email us via www.distinctionwellington.co.nz with the room number so we can follow up that buzzing sound. The city can be a noisy place, for those that like it nice and quiet we recommend our court yard rooms. While these do not have a view they are very quiet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

We arrived here late at night after a scary ferry crossing we were tired and just wanted to get to our room! We were met by a lovely young girl at reception whom made sure we had everything we needed! She gave us a later checking out time and also free wifi which we were very grateful of! We only wish we had been staying for longer! The room was spacious and well equipped.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sfairlamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Right in the middle of the city. We were coming in from Auckland for one night and arrived at 10 in the morning. They let us check in early which we were so grateful for. Really helpful front desk and well appointed clean rooms. Beds were comfortable too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I stayed here during the first week of december for a period of 2 weeks. I really like this palce of stay as teh rooms are strategically positioned facing teh ocean view. All the kitchen utensils are provided for apersont o cook and there is a weekly service provided by the Hotel. It is quiet close to busy Courtney place of wellignton and walkable distance from teh Sunday market.Overall good palce tos tay in Wellington

Room Tip: choose the top floor room. it has a good scenic view of Waterfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asnrajesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This hotel was great location, with plenty of eateries close by . Found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful. We had studio apartment which had very nice views of mountain, city and tiny bit of the ocean. Room was clean and nice enough. However, found it very difficult to sleep well at night due to what I assume was central heating way too hot? We kept window open all night which made it noisy of course, slept with no blanket and in the end no pyjamas in order to just make it sort of cool enough to sleep!! The weather was cold and windy and yet we were boiling in our room . If it wasn't for this I would recommend but I wouldn't go back there again as didn't get a good night sleep whole time we were there (4 nights). The only other slight criticism was the shower was over a rather high bath that didn't worry/matter to us but if you handicapped or elderly could be a bit of problem.

Room Tip: we were on 8th floor and had good view, but not sure if they all do ??
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel

Property: Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
Address: 70 Tory Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand (Formerly Grand Mercure Wellington Century City Apartments)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#20 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinction Wellington Century City Hotel provides the ideal Wellington accommodation base for business or leisure, in a vibrant location in the heart of all the action. On the doorstep of key Wellington attractions including Te Papa Museum, Distinction Wellington Century City Hotel's 89 guest rooms range from impeccably designed studios, to luxurious penthouse suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Wellington Century City Apartments Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing