We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would happily stay again :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Would happily stay again :-)”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

We had a 1 bedroom superior apartment on the 3rd floor facing the street. The apartment was clean and bright. Comfy bed. Great kitchen facilities and even a washer/dryer... Good stuff!!!!

Strange furniture lay out but we moved the couch so we could watch tv and the lovely staff were fine with that.

Yes the street is noisy when the clubbers are walking home drunk but that's a problem anywhere in Wellington :-/ so bring earplugs. Also there's the hustle and bustle during the day... But it's the city.

Great central location. Hubby stayed in an inner room facing too close to another building last time so was hesitant to stay again... But we were both very happy with our city view room.

We come to Wellington each year for a conference and will happily book here again :-) Thanks so much for a happy, friendly, comfortable stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mmbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    163
    82
    32
    11
See reviews for
63
173
18
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

This apartment was in a good location for easy access to the main attractions including the Te Papa Museum and waterfront but it could do with a really deep clean and new carpets. It had a large balcony but no outdoor furniture which was a shame as we visited in the summer and would have spent a lot more time on the balcony if there had been even a chair to sit on. The shower was adequate but the hosing falling apart and the toilet brush holder had definitely seen better days! The kitchen was well equipped and generally it was adequate for a 2 night stay but we probable wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sazzled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokoroa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed for homegrown weekend as very close to festival and Courtney place. Room much better, studio with single room that included queen bed, fully functional kitchenette. Separate bathroom with shower over bath, toilet and hand basin. Balcony backed onto other rooms. All basics needed as room for sleeping only. No street noise from late night revellers like rooms that overlook city streets. Room serviced, clean and adequate for our needs. Only negatives is room doors slam on every room in hallway, you hear conversations clearly in hallways. Carpet in room a bit grubby.

Parking is extra $20per night.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking city streets not the greatest if you want a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1hdsoftail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony A, Manager at Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thanks for your feedback. Hope you enjoyed the Homegrown concert it was a fantastic weekend. All the courtyard rooms face the rear of the hotel and are perfect if you want a nice quiet room. We will look into that carpet thanks for letting us know.

See you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Was excited bout girl's weekend away , all ready to go for a swim....got our togs n towel n walked towards the pool you had to go threw the public car park to get there pool walls were dirty and there was ppl having sex. Room was noisy as woken up very early and parking was cheaper down the road

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girls97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony A, Manager at Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hope your girls weekend was good. We share the pool complex with Century City Apartments and have been discussing the glass mirrors in the pool area. Due to the mirrors being over the the pool they get water on them regularly and it is quite difficult to clean these when the pool is full. Also we cannot get the cleaning product in the pool water so this is a challenge. Something we are working on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is an apartment style hotel located not far from Courtney Place the 'party' area of the city. The facilities were very clean and well presented. We booked a Studio Room, which came with a small kitchen. The only drawback was that the Studio Rooms do not have a washing machine, although there is pipework for these to be installed, neither is there a guest laundry. Wi-Fi is an extra charge and having a large fridge freezer in the bedroom can be noisy. All in all though this place is very well located clean & just the job for visiting the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

I will be staying in this hotel for 3 months for work purposes. I have found the staff and managers to be extremely accommodating and have provided much needed support during my time here. Room itself is great with kitchen and washing machine facility's which provide a level of independence that you need when your far away from home. Location is great and plenty of food options nearby. Would recommend this hotel!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nicknoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

You need to choose and pay for the 'city views' room otherwise you will be facing into a car park building less than 3m from your balcony door. On the weekend I stayed this was very, very noisy as people were actually racing through the carpark in the early hours. The bed was uncomfortable, there was no chair for the desk (why then have a desk?), and no A/C, however they did provide a fan in the room.

Overpriced for what it is and provides, but it is an excellent location in the city.

Room Tip: Choose the city view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyD73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel

Property: Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
Address: 70 Tory Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand (Formerly Grand Mercure Wellington Century City Apartments)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#20 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinction Wellington Century City Hotel provides the ideal Wellington accommodation base for business or leisure, in a vibrant location in the heart of all the action. On the doorstep of key Wellington attractions including Te Papa Museum, Distinction Wellington Century City Hotel's 89 guest rooms range from impeccably designed studios, to luxurious penthouse suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Wellington Century City Apartments Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing