We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is an apartment style hotel located not far from Courtney Place the 'party' area of the city. The facilities were very clean and well presented. We booked a Studio Room, which came with a small kitchen. The only drawback was that the Studio Rooms do not have a washing machine, although there is pipework for these to be installed, neither is there a guest laundry. Wi-Fi is an extra charge and having a large fridge freezer in the bedroom can be noisy. All in all though this place is very well located clean & just the job for visiting the city.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
There are newer reviews for Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 401 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

I will be staying in this hotel for 3 months for work purposes. I have found the staff and managers to be extremely accommodating and have provided much needed support during my time here. Room itself is great with kitchen and washing machine facility's which provide a level of independence that you need when your far away from home. Location is great and plenty of food options nearby. Would recommend this hotel!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank Nicknoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

You need to choose and pay for the 'city views' room otherwise you will be facing into a car park building less than 3m from your balcony door. On the weekend I stayed this was very, very noisy as people were actually racing through the carpark in the early hours. The bed was uncomfortable, there was no chair for the desk (why then have a desk?), and no A/C, however they did provide a fan in the room.

Overpriced for what it is and provides, but it is an excellent location in the city.

Room Tip: Choose the city view room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmyD73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Far from impressed with my stay. I checked in late for two nights stay to what I hoped was a great sleep in a great room. However, from parking my car in the carpark to walk up a pretty gruesome stairwell covered in chewing gum and fluff to get into a separate 'building area' (you have to walk around the corner to the tiny lobby) - I began to wonder what I'd done. From there I got into a shabby elevator to get to my floor.

Floor hallway, to be fair, was nice and I got into my room which on first glance was tastefully decorated etc. I was dog tired and so just wanted to get some sleep on what was actually a comfy enough bed. Upon trying to shut the venetian blinds it became apparent I wasn't going to be able to stop the street lights flooding in nor was I going to be able to sleep for revellers drunkenly tottering about the street till the wee hours. Sound proofing is woeful and should you have the want to open the balcony doors for fresh air seeing as there is no air-con ... shame!

Remember the blinds? Well you'll be rudely awakened by sun streaming in first light to top it all off. The sun is great though as it then allows you to see the room in it's full glory with grubby carpet and dirty balcony and you then painfully realise that this is actually at best a 3 to at a push 4 * serviced apartment that you've paid 4 to 5 * hotel prices for! Fantastic!

I checked out first thing in the morning in disgust with no recompense for my next nights stay.

Overall, not a great experience. Room strangely set out so difficult to view television with poor selection of channels (you get more in highway motels for less than half the price you pay for this place!). Internet is added extra, as is parking. No air-con. Hallway doors to other apartments bang shut. Cleaning standard is average. Noise from street. Blinds do nothing to stop light getting in. Fridge empty - not even a complimentary milk carton. Poor grubby pool, gym located through carpark!

The key lies in the establishments former name of "Grand Mercure Wellington Century City Apartments" - they are still serviced apartments!! They've just decided to call themselves a hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

After staying in this hotel for 3 nights over Xmas, I can't help but feel very disappointed. I had a deluxe one bedroom city view apartment, which unfortunately is not all it's cracked up to be. 6 sky channels, but no free view meant the TV was very limited, not what you would expect for $270 a night.

I was surprised to find out the rooms have no air conditioning, which is really not suitable here. The windows faces almost total east, so as soon as the sun rises in the morning, the apartment becomes an oven. The entire building lacks ventilation, so the lobby, hallways and rooms are constantly boiling. Cooking and bathroom facilities are of good quality. But for the price, I would definitely stay somewhere else. For that price, you almost have any place in Wellington at your fingertips.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalesNZ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

For some reason it was the only hotel available in Wellington the night that we were there. The location was good, though. This is an aparthotel. It didnt have any air conditioning, there were no windows in the bedroom so it was very stuffy. Worst of all, since I was there for a work trip and hence needed it, internet cost us $25 per night. And to add insult to injury, it was slow.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1MoreTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Just spent 5 days here as our main base while on holiday in Wellington. We were a family of 5, who had only 1 2 seater sofa to share, dining chairs not very comfy as a sofa option. Rooms could be at a better standard, cleaning staff work hard for the amount of rooms they have to clean a mop would be a wise investment for them!! Balcony screens could do with a wash also. It is a base to get your head down but when weather wet & windy the apartment isnt the best place to be confined in. Reception staff very young and not as helpful as we have experienced elsewhere. Wouldnt use again, best part of stay is Mores Wilsons Grocery Market across road.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.2 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,641 reviews
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.0 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,884 reviews
0.2 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel

Address: 70 Tory Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand (Formerly Grand Mercure Wellington Century City Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#20 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $125 - $808 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinction Wellington Century City Hotel provides the ideal Wellington accommodation base for business or leisure, in a vibrant location in the heart of all the action. On the doorstep of key Wellington attractions including Te Papa Museum, Distinction Wellington Century City Hotel's 89 guest rooms range from impeccably designed studios, to luxurious penthouse suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Wellington Century City Apartments Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing