We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Won't be back” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Won't be back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Not a great experience....we arrived at 5pm and were allocated a room. As we walked into the room it became apparent that the cleaning had not been done at all so the sheets were not changed, the bed not made, there was food on the kitchen bench and rubbish on the table. I contacted reception and was told that she would send the cleaners up to the clean the room shortly. I found this shocking so refused this offer and asked to be moved to another room that was clean! I couldn't believe this since check out is 11am and we arrived at 5pm so they had plenty of time to clean the room!! We were moved to a similar 2 bedroom room two floors down. This room was clean and had an pretty good view. The location of the hotel is great and other than the dirty room we arrived to, the hotel itself is clean and nicely presented.

The 2 bedroom room is a good size and has a nice balcony and fully equiped kitchen. The room nearest the road was not comfortable to sleep in however as there was noise from the road at night/early morning and we woke to hot sun beaming in through the windows and it was like sleeping in an oven (no air con and only thin blinds that don't work properly instead of curtains). It is nice that there are two doors you can open to let fresh air in however.

I wouldn't recommend using the indoor 'heated' swimming pool (as it is advertised on their website) during winter or if you have children. We were looking forward to taking our 3 year old son for a swim in the 'heated' swimming pool only to discover that you have to walk through a dirty, cold car park to get to the pool and once you get to the entrance there is a door that you need a separate key for as your room swipe card doesn't work (would have been nice to have this explained at check in as we walked across the car park and then back down to reception and then back across the car park to the pool). The pool is down a set of stairs at the bottom of the car park with cold air blowing through holes in the wall and the pool is NOT heated. We had a quick swim and then had to take our cold, shaking 3 year old across the cold car park and back into the hotel room to get warm. We didn't use the gym but it did look like quite a good one, with lots of equipment to choose from.

One other complaint is that they don't have bag trolleys so you need to park your car out the front of the hotel, lift everything into the entrance, move your car to the car park at the rear of the building, move all of your bags (we had quite a lot of stuff) to the lift and then to your room. The lady at reception kindly helps us to do this but it would have been more helpful to have a trolley.

The lady at reception was apologetic about the room not being cleaned and gave us free wifi for the duration of our stay but unfortunately our experience of the hotel was not good by that stage and we were happy to check out. I have spent less per night at other hotels in Wellington and had a much better stay so won't be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becz-Awa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony A, Manager at Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback Becz-Awa
Please accept my apologies for your room not having been serviced when you arrived, this is most definitely not acceptable. If you could email me with the dates and room number that would be appreciated so I can follow this up with our housekeeper. My email address is tony.abbott@distinctionwellington.co.nz.

We are part way through replacing the blinds in the hotel and have completed the court yard facing rooms with new curtains which are proving popular. We are looking at replacing them throughout the rest of the hotel as well.
Kind regards
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    160
    80
    31
    11
See reviews for
62
170
18
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level Contributor
134 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here recently and the location is good. It's a pain having to drag your luggage up stairs. The lady at the counter wasn't overally helpful. Parking costs $20.00 per night but it is secure. The room has a weird layout but we couldn't believe that in a fairly new complex there was no air conditioning! Surely this should of been thought of when building this hotel??? We left our balcony door open to get so e fresh air but the noise was a bit unbearable. We wouldn't stay there again and wouldn't recommend to friends.

Room Tip: From what I gather there is no air conditioning in any of the rooms. I would also suggest when check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenant143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony A, Manager at Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments honeymooners143. Yes it is unfortunate that air-conditioning wasnt not installed when the hotel was build. Wellington does have a fresh and windy reputation but we can turn on some stunning days as well. All the rooms to have opening windows and balcony or courtyard and a fresh Wellington Breeze. We will be putting fans in the rooms for our summer period.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Recently stayed 1 night in a Standard One Bedroom Apartment - City view! Amazing location, close to the restaurants and bars but far enough not to be too noisy.
Within walking distance to almost everything you need. New World only a 5 min walk, bus stops etc all close.
Would highly recommend if you need full cooking facilities and a full size fridge.
Only downside would be the lack of a/c but opening the double sliding doors with fresh air was great.

Room Tip: Ensure you book a city view and not a courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NikNiksxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights in the hotel.

Parking was $20 a night, which I thought wasn't too bad considering parking is pretty expensive in town. The park was secure and safe, although there were no lifts from there, so we lugged our luggage up the stairs to the lift.

Check in was easy, and we were offered advice on where things were by the people at the front desk.

The room itself was quite nice, and the bathroom was big, white and bright!

We had a studio room with a view of the "courtyard". It was really a view of the parking building 3-4m away.To the hotels' credit, when the ranch-slider was closed you did not hear a thing outside, and the curtains certainly blocked any light.

We quite often heard doors slam shut from the closing arm on the doors - maybe this could be adjusted to help people sleep better!

One problem we did have was that it was weirdly very warm in the room on the first night, and there is no air conditioning. We weren't going to leave the ranch-slider open with the car-parking noise, but we weren't getting any sleep either. We rang reception and they offered us a fan to use, which was nice during the evening - at least it made it a little cooler. The bed was pretty solid though.

The location of this hotel is excellent - we were able to walk to Te Papa in under 10 minutes. We walked to the cable car in 15-20 minutes, and from there walked to parliament. Lonestar was less than a 1 minute walk, and Courtenay Place was a minute away (go to Steer and Beer next to the cinema - awesome food!).

The definite plus about this place is the location to everything... although next time I'd pay for a city view room.

Room Tip: Get a city view room if you're staying during the week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobinthebottle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here for a single night - served my purpose as it was close to where my conference was. Good price and nice hotel. Room was large, clean and very well appointed.

Unfortunately was much closer to the local bars and clubs that I thought, so there was some noise. I often sleep very lightly when travelling so it was noticeable but I still got a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DamianLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

The location is great is you are staying for business or pleasure. Really close to Cuba street and lots of bars and restaurants. Only about 15 minutes to get to Lambton Quay. Nice sofa's and beds. If you need wifi make sure you connect to the cheaper Century City Hotel Ultrafast rather than paying at reception.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We were very disappointed when we arrived at our so called 4 star room.. The bed is double, not queen, the room has one ridiculous armchair for the tv which only fits one person, there's NO air conditioning, they didn't change our sheets!!! or make our bed properly after we put up the please service our room sign (the most basic of things you'd expect in any hotel!), the information in the hotel book is usless (leaving us confused about the carpark situation), overall it was just disappointing and a huge waste of money! Definitely would not stay again and would not recommend

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony A, Manager at Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. It sounds like you were in a Studio Room which are the smallest of our rooms types. These room do have limited space for extra furniture. We have a number of other room types from Standard & Superior one bedroom apartments that give extra space and comfort.

I have discussed your comments with our housekeeper as the room should have been fully serviced daily and linen changed if you were staying more than two nights with us. I do apologise if this was not the case.

Our in room compendium has information on location and price of the car park and the front desk staff have further information on parking and directions when needed. This should be communicated on check in at the hotel.

Regards
Tony Abbott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.7 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel

Property: Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
Address: 70 Tory Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand (Formerly Grand Mercure Wellington Century City Apartments)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#20 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinction Wellington Century City Hotel provides the ideal Wellington accommodation base for business or leisure, in a vibrant location in the heart of all the action. On the doorstep of key Wellington attractions including Te Papa Museum, Distinction Wellington Century City Hotel's 89 guest rooms range from impeccably designed studios, to luxurious penthouse suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Wellington Century City Apartments Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing